We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newcastle Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wiscasset Woods Lodge(Wiscasset)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$188
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
106
20
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdamariscotta riverjigsaw puzzlemid coast mainecookiesnew englandquiet roaddelicious breakfastwarmer monthsscreened porchquiet settingowls headfrench toastold housesitting areawonderful visiteasy accessperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 128 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We loved our stay in every way. The food is delicious and every touch delivered as if you were in your own home except that you're being waited on at every turn. The rooms are also delightful. They have authentic Maine feel of an old Northern New England Inn but they're totally up-to-date and comfortable. We'll stay again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidney65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Thank you Newcastle for making our wedding guests feel so wonderful. You were the start of a truly Beautiful week-end.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

What a lovely inn in a beautiful location! This was the finish line for my brother's solo cross country bike ride to raise money for the Prostate Cancer Foundation. Innkeeper Julie B. graciously welcomed friends and family to her lnn to celebrate his wonderful accomplishment. It was the perfect place! Our room was small but spotless, bed was comfortable, and bath towels were large and thick. The common rooms are attractive and comfortable, but the best place to hang out was the deck overlooking the gardens and river. A delicious breakfast (plum crisp and french toast) was served on the deck. The Inn is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return. Thanks, Julie, for your warm hospitality! It felt like home!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMotsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The Newcastle Inn has quickly become one of our favorite getaway spots. A quick trip to hot-spots like Portland and Freeport, it's ideal for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Julie, the Innkeeper, has been putting her own stamp on the Inn, with recent renovations that make the Inn feel like a beach getaway. Julie is nothing but smiles, and is so welcoming that you often feel you're coming home when you stay there.

Want to relax and stay away from the shopping?? The Inn is "riverside", and you can sit in the Adirondack chairs in the back yard and look out over the Damariscotta River while reading a book. The little town of Damariscotta also has a lot of great restaurants and little shops to poke around in.

And the food?? There's an endless cookie jar, coffee all the time, and the breakfasts are always wonderful. Julie often uses herbs from her garden, which is always a treat. She's also very accommodating to any dietary needs, which has been wonderful.

Overall, the Newcastle Inn is a wonderful place to stay. Whether it's just for a weekend getaway, you're passing through, visiting family, or looking for an extended trip to Maine, it's by far the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTWeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

For our 40th wedding anniversary my husband surprised me with a weekend at the Newcastle Inn. All of our family and many of our friends joined us for a weekend celebration. The Inn was the perfect setting since we had spent our 20th wedding anniversary there and it has been our favorite Inn ever since. We filled the Inn for the weekend and Julie, the Innkeeper, made us all feel very much at home. The Newcastle Inn is a jewel. It has such charm and warmth that I can't even begin to describe what a wonderful place it is. Thank you, Julie, for your warm and wonderful hospitality.

View Reviewer Info

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sguzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews