We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always the Newcastle Inn maintains its high standards as a lovely, classic, New England B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newcastle Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Newtown, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As always the Newcastle Inn maintains its high standards as a lovely, classic, New England B&B”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The Newcastle Inn B&B is a classic New England B&B situated on a serenely beautiful property overlooking the Damariscotta river. The inn is spotless and the rooms are uniquely yet tastefully decorated. We've been returning to the inn for over 30 years. Julie, continues the tradition of high standards, excellent breakfasts, and friendly, efficient service. And we'll continue our tradition of staying at her inn.

The inn is situated on a quiet street. You are within walking distance of unique shops and wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtown_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Newcastle Inn for 2 glorious days several weeks ago. We loved everything about it. Julie, the innkeeper, grows her own herbs, cooks her own breakfasts and supplies you with 24/7 yummy cookies, coffee and tea. Her skill in cooking is matched only by her talent for making her guests feel comfortable and pampered.

This is simply a Very Special Inn. Kudos to Julie & Dolce!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
529 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Innkeeper Julie (ably assisted by her great dog, Dolce) makes you feel welcome from arrival to departure. The inn is an authentic old Maine inn with a very nice location on the Damariscotta River. It is conveniently close to Route 1 but far enough so you don't hear or see traffic. Some rooms have river views in addition to the common rooms and breakfast deck. The room was comfortable and everything was immaculate. The breakfasts were very good, and Julie was very accommodating for my wife's gluten free diet. The inn sits about 2 blocks from Damariscotta, which has several restaurants, banks, drugstores and a hospital. It is about 20 minutes by car to Boothbay Harbor where there are many restaurants & touristy things to do.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Newcastle Inn very much, and look forward to another visit soon. From check-in to check-out details are handled capably, with warmth and professionalism. Guest pantry features home-baked cookies, hot coffee, tea, refridgerator--just like home, only better! Breakfasts were delicious, and featured truly good food, done well. Guests were treated to strawberry shortcake out on the deck on the night of July 4th, as we watched the fireworks over the river--a real treat. Our room (Seal Island) was clean and comfortable, and a complementary glass of wine in the evenings is nice too. We will definitely return to this lovely spot overlooking the Damariscotta River.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakesArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed here over Fourth of July weekend, and am eager to return in upcoming years. The Inn itself is charming, clean, and comfy, and innkeeper Julie, with her unending cookie jar and complimentary soda fridge, coffee, tea, etc. makes everyone feel like they're staying at the home of a long-time, well-to-do friend. Breakfast was delicious and different every day, and guests felt welcome to linger over puzzles all day, quiz Julie for tips on local places to visit, or check out some outstanding fireworks over the river that abuts the inn's backyard. Newcastle/Damariscotta have plenty of local activities, restaurants, etc., but are off the beaten path from the tourist hordes, adding to the area's charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooch300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Newcastle Inn at least once a month for the last year while doing business in the area. It has consistently been a wonderful experience starting each work day with a delicious breakfast sitting on the deck taking in the view of the Damariscotta River or inside in the cozy dining room. Coming "home" to a welcoming place made the work day hardly feel like work! The rooms are lovely. I could easily wind down in front of my fireplace or enjoy the many common spaces the Inn has to offer including the Pub for a glass of wine. It is the perfect experience for the business traveler - truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LupineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We visited the Newcastle Inn for a week in April. Julie runs a well organized, clean, and charming inn. The atmosphere is friendly and comfortable. The inn is centrally located so that you can take day trips to National and State parks, hiking trails, beaches, museums, coastal gardens, and shopping. The Newcastle Inn makes your trip to Maine memorable and special!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
13.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
418 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Inn

Property: Newcastle Inn
Address: 60 River Rd, Newcastle, ME 04553-3803
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14 guest rooms at Newcastle Inn are each named for a historic Maine lighthouse and all rooms have private bath and air conditioning. Room features might include: gas stove or fireplace, or a private porch. Free WiFi access is available throughout the inn. Two rooms are dog friendly. The common areas include a three season porch, living room, sitting room, pub and a great deck to be enjoyed during the warmer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newcastle Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing