We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming New England Inn”
Review of Newcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newcastle Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just last week, my wife and I stayed here while visiting family in South Bristol. Julie is a wonderful Innkeeper who greeted us very warmly. We found our room to be very lovely, very clean ,and decorated with that special New England Charm.It also had a picturesque view of the river out back.

Breakfasts are wonderful and change daily. We were here for 3 days and so appreciated Julie's home cooking.

In the future, you can be sure that we will return!

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of the hotel have lovely views. We stayed in the Pemaquid Point Suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear ericz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at Newcastle Inn.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Pemaquid Point Suite with the new bathroom and redecorated sitting room and bedroom. It has been very popular with guests since it was remodeled just over a year ago.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle Inn the next time you are in the area to visit your family.

Sincerely,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family & I recently enjoyed 5 nights @ Newcastle and loved it. Julie is so welcoming and accommodated our late check-in easily. Newcastle is in a great location for exploring Maine's Mid-coast. Julie gave us great references for places to eat. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Suzette S,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Newcastle Inn while you were visiting the MidCoast area of Maine. You are right in that the town of Newcastle is a perfect "stepping off" location for seeing and doing many different things in this area.

I look forward to your return the next time you are visiting MidCoast Maine.

Sincerely,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Julie the owner is a delight. She runs the place very professionally but also has a personal touch that makes a B&B more home-like than a hotel. It really is a little inn as she says. The breakfast happened to be French Toast with extras and the best French Toast I've ever had. The beds were very good and the place has a nice TV room. She provides coffee/tea & cookies that you can help yourself to and has local menus. The road is quiet at night so sleeping is easy. The rooms are simple and very clean. The bathroom was also spotless. One can walk to Damariscotta for dinner as well. We happened to be on a bicycle tour and Julie was extremely understanding and helpful for the extra things we needed to take care of our selves and our bikes after a day in the rain. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Islandgirl88,

Thank you for your comments.

After your long day riding in the rain I'm glad that I was here and able to provide with a respite from being wet all day. Getting your wet clothes washed and into the dryer was my pleasure to provide for you.

The French Toast is a very popular breakfast here at the inn and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. None of my recipes are secrets and I am happy to share them with anyone who asks.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Sincerely,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Newcastle Inn is perfectly located for beginning an exploration of the Mid Coast region of Maine. Due to efforts of Julie in innkeeper, it is also the perfect place to begin a day of vacation. The spacious sparklingly clean rooms, the sun draped deck and the various well appointed interior public spaces combine to produce an atmosphere that represents all that is best about a New England Inn. Couple this atmosphere with the gourmet breakfast provided and visitors have a great beginning for their Maine adventure.
The New Castle Inn is located within walking distance of the picturesque village of Damariscootta which features several fine restaurants, pubs, shops and a movie theatre. The inn is also a short drive from Pemaquid Point which features breathtaking seaside vistas, a beach, a famous lighthouse and harbor villages that are all of post card quality.

Room Tip: Note to Bristol town beach employees: My wife and I were looking for a place where she could read a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandPopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear NewEnglandPopo,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Newcastle Inn. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the inn while you were in the area on vacation. Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the inn has been passed on to the housekeepers who work hard to keep things in tip top shape.

I look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the Newcastle/Damariscotta area.

Thank you again,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Inn keeper, Julie, provides such a welcoming experience....her inn is prestine, staff so friendly, rooms impecibly clean, breakfast has a gourmet twist......very relaxing spaces to sit and read or have delightful conversations with other guests. Loved the porch to sit on and the deck was a perfect spot to enjoy our breakfast.....it felt like home away from home. You must stay at the Newcastle Inn!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Bizbe,

Thank you for your review.

I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay at Newcastle Inn and that the weather cooperated and you were able to enjoy breakfast service outside on the deck. Of all the common rooms at the inn, the screened porch is my favorite, and that of many guests as well.

I look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Newcastle Inn.

Thank you,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Newcastle Inn is a well-run, clean and exceptionally comfortable bed and breakfast located in beautiful mid-coast Maine. The food is outstanding, the rooms are clean and comfortable with the best quality mattresses and linens, internet access is perfect, and it is in our opinion one of the classiest and cleanest B&B’s in the Damariscotta area. We also like the fact that the owner supports local charity work and gives back to the community where she lives and works. You can walk right into town and enjoy the quaint shops and outstanding restaurants. Julie, the Inn Keeper, is passionate about what she does and goes out of her way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. You will even leave as friends. This mid-coast area has so much to offer. You will be pleasantly surprised and will no doubt be looking forward to a return visit.
Lisa & Rick Hagen
Miami, Florida

Room Tip: We have tried two different rooms on the second floor and both are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGB1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Lisa & Rick,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at Newcastle Inn. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction.

I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the Hospitality for Habitat special while you were here. Habitat for Humanity is a wonderful organization and I am happy, and proud, to participate in this program each year.

Thank you again!
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the second time staying here and it was once again a wonderful experience. The rooms are well decorated, comfortable, and clean. Julie is extremely friendly and goes out of her way to make your stay wonderful. The breakfast is always fresh, delicious, and a tasty way to start your day. Breakfast is served in a sunny room during cold months and on the great deck overlooking the river in warmer months. There are several rooms on the first floor for relaxing and mingling with plenty of sitting areas, books to read, puzzles and games to play. The inn is walking distance to many delicious restaurants and stores. I am looking forward to coming back for another long weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcastleInn, Owner at Newcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Genny S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Newcastle Inn. It was nice to have you back at the inn again.

I just wish that the weather had been more cooperative and breakfast could have been served outside on the deck. The gardens loved the rain and look pretty amazing right now. As you noted, it is nice to only be a 1/2 mile walk to the shops, restaurants, etc and many guests do just that during the warmer months.

Thank you again and I look forward to your return the next time you visit Newcastle!

Sincerely,
Julie Bolthuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
4 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
8.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
12.2 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
103 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Inn

Address: 60 River Rd, Newcastle, ME 04553-3803
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14 guest rooms at Newcastle Inn are each named for a historic Maine lighthouse and all rooms have private bath and air conditioning. Room features might include: gas stove or fireplace, or a private porch. Free WiFi access is available throughout the inn. Two rooms are dog friendly. The common areas include a three season porch, living room, sitting room, pub and a great deck to be enjoyed during the warmer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newcastle Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing