We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Newagen Seaside Inn on Southport Island in Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newagen Seaside Inn

Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Newagen
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Newagen Seaside Inn on Southport Island in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Took my husband on a two night stay at Newagen this week. Our first time here and so happy that we were able to enjoy ourselves at this beautiful historic site along the Maine coast. Quiet, peaceful, charming, inviting, all of the qualities that we were looking for. The staff is friendly and make you feel so welcome as if this was our home. Our king size bed was comfortable. We had the breakfast buffet that was included in our package and my husband actually was impressed. Cinnamon rolls were made fresh and mouth watering. The wait staff very friendly and attentive. You don't have to leave the inn for anything. Meals are available. Activities & entertainment is available. We walked, rode the bicycles, bowled in the onsite bowling alley. Heard the surf pounding on the rocks from the harbor with sounds of seagulls in the distance. I did not want to leave this lovely getaway. I want to go back in the spring when they reopen. I was not disappointed at all. Thank you to all at Newagen for making my stay so memorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta,GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chef Fiona rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The cuisine is varied, delicious, beautifully served and presented. I especially enjoyed her "easy" lobster and the flourless chocolate torte.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank randr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Island Secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

After years of trying this place has hit its stride. A destiny location, at the end of no where, you come here for the view, the sea air and now, the food and service. The view is post card perfect too. Tian holds court in the pub - which is simple in set up but more than makes up for it in quality. I have not had a bad meal here yet and eaten here twice a week on average. Service is organized, and, the staff seems happy about being there (many are from Jamaica). The fish special is always tops - and there are two menus to order from (simple and the more formal list offered in the adjoining fancy dining room). Either room, depending on your mood, is by far the best choice for dinner on the Boothbay Peninsula now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank island04575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
“Rustic feel to send you back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lived the fell, history, and views. The staff was very accommodating. The bed in the room provided was too hard so the staff offered to upgrade us to a better room with a softer bed at no charge. The main building is old but fully renovated so you can hear loud noises through the walls, but guests were quiet for the most part (no tv's in the rooms probably for this reason). Lots of great history behing the resort which I highly recommend you read.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_333_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old style service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Cozy bar in a great setting. Great view of the harbor as well. Our bartender Cathy was pleasant and attentive. We had the wings and homemade potato chips. Both were excellent! Recommend you check this gem out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wpvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newagen Seaside Inn also viewed

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing