We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
235
56
22
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
235
56
22
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game room fire pit boothbay harbor rachel carson lobster bake main building southport island adirondack chairs staff was very friendly and helpful blueberry pie mussels beautiful grounds wedding venue lawn games watch tv get away two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 337 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2019

What a perfect location! We had a Main Inn suite for myself, my husband and two boys.
The room was very large, with a bedroom (king bed), a living room, bath and hallway/closet area. There was a ceiling air conditioner in the living room with minibar area, but no air conditioning in the bedroom. They did, however, provide a new, large fan for the bedroom - which did the trick! The room was worn, but very comfortable! The view was amazing!
The people were amazing!!
We took advantage of the lobster bake on Tuesday, which was incredible. The lawn games were awesome as was the pool and pool area. The Pine Room game room was SOOOO hot, but SOOO fun, with old fashioned candlepin bowling, ping pong, shuffleboard, and billiards.

We visited the alpaca farm across the street, and it was sweet.
The MOST amazing thing about Newagen was the breakfast. I'm gluten free, and finding a beautiful breakfast was not a problem - infact - it was abundant and beautiful!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank melissasI1904LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Thank you for spending your vacation with us! So glad you found the alpacas...they are the BEST neighbors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

This was our fifth year at Newagen and plan on returning next year, God willing.
We have already made our reservations.
Newagen is the type of place you can park your car and never touch it until you are ready to leave, which is what we do.
The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.
We absolutely love the food and have all of our meals right there. They also have a huge buffet breakfast.
Beautiful grounds with spectacular views. The flower gardens are amazing.
I just wish we could spend more time there.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank namron22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Happy fifth Newagen anniversary! We hope to host you for many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Newagen Inn made my first visit to Maine a wonderful one. It's such a beautifully run property by management and the Inn's staff was so caring and accommodating. The bar and restaurant were also great with plenty of delicious food and beverage options. It's such a gorgeous place. You won't regret staying here.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jasoncrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Thank you so much! I hope this won’t be your last visit to Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We have been eating at "The Inn" on Southport for 30 years. Chefs have come and gone. This year's is really good. We love having dinner on the inside porch overlooking the harbor. Good bar. Attentive service. Real Maine view. Pleasant vibes. This is Maine at its best.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you so much. We feel very fortunate to have Chef Nathaniel in the kitchen this year. Keep coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Newagen is a must-stop for any Rachel Carson fans. Even though we weren’t staying at the Inn, we had a lovely time wandering the grounds where she spent time with her friend, Dorothy.

Take the “Sunset Path” across from the main entrance of the inn and walk a short distance to find two Adirondack chairs facing the ocean with a plaque honoring Carson. Her ashes were scattered at the edge of this sea, and it’s a peaceful place to take in the tidal pools she wandered in, and watch cormorants, eiders, ospreys, and gulls fish. We came back at sunset and had the place to ourselves for a lovely picnic and view.

The Inn’s restaurant was a great place for lunch. Fried clams and fish tacos were on point. The cocktails were refreshing, and we still had room for two pieces of blueberry pie split between four people.

Rachel’s last letter to Dorothy, written on Newagen Inn stationery, is framed on a desk to the right of the main desk.

To continue your Rachel Carson tour, loop around Southport along the western side. Rachel’s house is on 16 Carson Lane (private driveway, so you can’t get up close). Dorothy lived close by on Dogfish. There’s a very short hike and lovely beach near Hendricks Head lighthouse that they also frequented. Happy fangirling!

“To stand at the edge of the sea, to sense the ebb and flow of the tides, to feel the breath of a mist moving over a great salt marsh, to watch the flight of shore birds that have swept up and down the surf lines of the continents for untold thousands of years, to see the running of the old eels and the young shad to the sea, is to have knowledge of things that are as nearly eternal as any earthly life can be.”

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kristinsj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you for this beautiful recap of your Rachel Carson tour. So many people tell us that Rachel's presence is still felt very strongly on Newagen's property and we could not be more honored. We're glad you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews