We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zimmerman Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zimmerman Family Reunion”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Newagen Inn is a perfect venue for a family reunion. The Inn offers both elegance and welcoming casualness. The Pine Room was a great place for all to gather for bowling, games, and music, & FUN. 25 of us gathered from Calif, Ariz, Colorado, Illinois and Michigan. We celebrated wedding anniversaries; birthdays; pending weddings; expectant baby; new family members; and even current success of cancer treatments. The staff was extremely accommodating with special rooms for our celebrations. Elegant gormet meals. Great chef! The 15 grandchildren and their spouses ranged in age from 13 - 35. All agreed it was the "best vacation ever"! And that included the fact that all meals and gatherings were "electronics free". We cannot say enough about the caring, royal treatment by Lin Koch & Jason Schlosser who worked with us for almost a year to put this together....especially when we thought we would have to cancel everything our daughter was diagnosed with cancer. Jason's response was, "We will hold everything. Call back in the spring and I am sure you will have even more to celebrate." He was right! We all hope to return!
Frank & Faye Traverse City, Michigan

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. They all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    42
    12
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
101
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bowdoin, Maine USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Seaside resort on the Maine coast with hospitality galore. Upon arrival for just a one night stay, we were warmly greeted at the check-in desk. Our room was cozy and overlooked the outdoor fire pit and gazebo and it was supplied with the all important ocean view. Pedal bikes were on the porch for anyone so inclined. Lighthouse view from the public dock just around the corner. Delicious dinner, lounge/bar area full of friendly folks to watch the football game on the resorts' only television. Full breakfast buffet included with our room was plentiful, hot and satisfying.

Room Tip: No A/C evidence. Nice fresh air, though. Some rooms have balconies. Second floor rooms have better o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsg1549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My mother and I bought a groupon for this inn and LOVED IT. What a great place! It's on the point of an island, with water views all around, a pool, a gazebo and boardwalk down by the water, a big lawn, cottages for those so inclined, and is just the perfect "summer in Maine" experience. We were there in Sept, but could imagine how perfect it would be in July or August. A big sun porch runs the back width of the main building, every room has views, and we got upgraded to a suite in the "Little Inn", a 4 suite building off to one side. Two up and two down, we had the Kennebec Room downstairs with our own porch facing the water (as do all the rooms in Little Inn).
Our room was wonderful! Beautiful, in soft green and rose colors, Maine-y, spotless, updated, spacious, with French doors opening onto our own private porch, with a TV (which the main Inn rooms lack) and a foyer which included a mini-frig, a microwave, and a coffee pot, besides a big bathroom sink and a big closet. It had an iron and board, 2 luggage racks, hairdryer, sundries, bathrobes, fluffy towels and a desk and chair, besides an upholstered rocking chair for reading in the corner. It was wheelchair accessible, which worked well for us, as my Mom has a bad knee and would have had a hard time climbing stairs, and can always use all the bars in the bathroom. Parking was just a short walk away, as was the Main Inn for breakfast and the dinner that our groupon entitled us to.
Meals were fabulous. Pricey for dinner, but excellent 4 course meals and excellent service. We had shoestring potatoes, shrimp cocktail, squash soup to die for, scallops, steak, and cheesecake, all delicious. Service was first rate. Gorgeous dining room, too, all facing the water, and fresh beautiful flowers on every table. I took pictures of them! Breakfast was NOT continental as advertised, it was a full buffet with eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast or pancakes, quiche, cereal, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. Lovely.
If we can afford it, we will definitely go back in the summer. I am recommending it to all my traveling friends. Also, it's very near to Boothbay Harbor, which was better than Bar Harbor---no cruise ships and VERY friendly proprietors, even after a whole tourist season! Thank you Newagen, for a great little vacation!!

Room Tip: The Little Inn suite was wonderful. Ask for one downstairs if you have any trouble with stairs. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just a stay of two short days and I hope to return. Off the beaten path of the Boothbay Harbor tourist traffic, Newagen Seaside Inn is nestled in a quiet cove that I found very relaxing and picturesque. Our four course dinner was delicious and our server excellent and attentive. The breakfast buffet was hearty with something everyone. I missed experiencing their duckpin bowling - a "to-do" item that slipped through the cracks. Our suite was nice, but nothing to rave about. I liked the absence of a TV and alarm clock. If there is a next visit, I will request a room with a balcony. Complimentary coffee and tea are available all day. A crackling fire in the Great Room was kept stoked in the evening providing a nice location to read or chat over a glass of wine. The staff was helpful and pleasant with Jason as a standout in professionalism with a warm and friendly approach.

Room Tip: No Air conditioning. Not a problem in September for our visit, but might be unpleasant in the heigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Newagen Seaside Inn for four nights in early August. We actually stayed in the Little Inn which is a separate building that has four suites. I would highly recommend staying there because the rooms are much nicer than the regular inn. We had our own balcony that overlooked the ocean and it was much quieter than the regular inn.

We did not intend to eat most of our dinners at the inn but since Boothbay Harbor is about a 20 minute drive, we ended up doing so. The food was wonderful. The service could be a little better, but I blame that on the management. I never once saw a manager at dinner.

There is plenty to do in Boothbay but if you don't want to drive back and forth, you might be better off staying in town. Newagen is on Southport Island and the only way on and off is over a swing bridge that often is open to let boats through.

Room Tip: Stay in the Little Inn and beware that the entire inn rents out most weekends for weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krkupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Wonderful Labor Day getaway at a peaceful Inn with an emphasis on relaxation. No Tv in rooms or clocks in rooms. Excellent restaurant with superb dinner choices and a excellent buffet breakfast each morning.Great location right on the ocean with great views. We will return for another stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6PATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is as true a traditional historic Maine Oceanside Inn as you could want. It has large grounds and a true restaurant, compared to a bed & breakfast. Real old fashioned fun like candle pin bowling, ping pong, s'mores, lobster bake, lounging areas, adirondak chairs, a pool, ocean views. Very close to Boothbay Harbor for shopping and boat tours, etc. No TVs, and lots of uncrowded quiet. Free hot breakfasts. Our jr. High son was wary at first, but he fell in love with the surroundings, complimentary tennis, reading by the giant fireplace, climbing on the rocky shore. The Inn rooms are very "historic" feeling with wood floors and small bathrooms. It's not a giant Hyatt room, but it feels liked true wooded Maine.
Another family recommended it to us, and we will recommend it over and over. We hope we can come back. It was a delight!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hereatmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
5.4 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
360 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Property: Newagen Seaside Inn
Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing