We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, delightful room”
Review of Hotel Pemaquid

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pemaquid
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were on a last-minute getaway and were pleasantly surprised to get a room here on short notice; this is the exception not the rule as there are many folks who book ahead year after year. We chose this location for its proximity to Pemaquid Light and the cool Atlantic breezes (no A/C here), and were not disappointed! While waiting to be checked in we explored the nostalgic lobby and enjoyed Dave Brubeck's "Strange Meadowlark" playing in the background!

There was generous lawn space for a play area and an outbuilding with ice & vending machines. Our room was the "Chauffeur's Quarters" located on the first floor of the main inn with a private pink candy-stripe-wallpapered bath, a sitting area with TV, and its own sunporch. The inn's wi-fi and our cell phones worked ok, just about. A row of large windows provided plenty of fresh air; a couple of fans are kept in the closet if needed. I'm always apprehensive about the beds in a place we haven't tried before, but needn't have worried about this one--it was very comfortable for both of us. It was so pleasant just to sit and take in the beauty of this place. A most cheerful room!

When we returned from an evening outing around 9:30pm, the parking lot was full and we had to improvise a space. By keeping the lights off entering the room we were able to avoid the mosquito plague for which coastal Maine is notorious. Insect repellant is strongly recommended for this area from dusk onward. The tiny color TV worked fine and all that mattered is they carried the Red Sox channel! All too soon we fell asleep in the big bed. Light sleepers are warned to bring ear plugs (I never travel without them) as you can hear everything--and I do mean EVERYTHING--from the driveway, the nearby cottage and the upstairs. That was the one drawback. Everything else was simply delightful.

Within a very short walk are the Sea Gull Shop (great lobster stew, says my spouse) and of course Pemaquid Light and the scenic Pemaquid Loop walking route. Hotel Pemaquid does not accept credit cards--only cash & checks. No frills, bells & whistles--just a good old-fashioned Maine inn to which we would be happy to return. Hopefully, for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandybFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

I live for the month of August for that is when I know I am going to let the worries of the world disappear and I am going to spend 4 or 5 nights at the Hotel Pemaquid. I have been going there for at least 15 years and there is no place on earth I would ever want to be. Skip, the owner, could not be more accomodating and the same goes for Sharrie and Gordon. It's the perfect place to decompress from the troubles of life. My room is always clean and well taken care of. August is fast approaching and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pemaquid027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Spent one night at the grand old Hotel Pemaquid. This is a lovely place to spend more than one night if you have the time. The lighthouse is right there on location for short walks for sunset and sunrise photos. I would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sioux48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

All the good stuff first- LOCATION-within walking distance the ocean and the Pemaquid Point Lighthouse ! The setting is magical and I love it that's a Historical Property ! The main house is filled with comfy chairs, old wood, music and memories ! BUT.. if you expect a big bathroom with fluffy towels.. this is not it.. The price is very fair here and for a few dollars more it would be nice to see them upgrade the towels and bedding-
The bathroom in the burnside units is tiny- stall shower,sink and toilet all in what might have been a closet- The furnishings are a bit worn. But it was very quiet at night and it was so wonderful to stay at a property that has been open since 1888!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for one night on our way up the coast. The room was adequate. We had no problem at all with cleanliness or bad smells (and I'm picky about that type of thing) My only (minor) quibble was the bathroom- threadbare old towels, lack of amenities, poor water pressure in shower. We loved being so near the lighthouse, and enjoyed an amazing breakfast at the nearby Seagull Cafe (have the blueberry pancakes!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Pemaquid Hotel during a trip along the Maine coastline.

+ beautiful hotel located at the end of a peninsula
+ very quiet
+ the famous Pemaquid lighthouse is next door
+ the interior of the hotel has not really changed since the 30s
+ the restaurant next door with view of the ocean serves delicious food
+ friendly staff

- rooms are a little bit small
- some rooms have shared bathrooms
- our room was a little bit smelly

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kolldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My first novel "The Memory Barrel" takes you on a journey of love, life and believing in dreams coming true. I have stayed at Hotel Pemaquid many times throughout the years. You walk back in time as you step into the sitting area, or nestle on the front porch in the rocking chairs. You find that good place inside you as you listen to the sound of the waves just moments away. This is a place of solitude and reflection for those looking for time away from the hustle and busy life. My choice to include this in my novel was not difficult. Come see for yourself..there is magic there.. or read it in The Memory Barrel by DBLorgan. Blessings to you all.. Diane

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBLorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Harbor
0.2 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
157 reviews
6.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
5.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pemaquid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pemaquid

Address: 3098 Bristol Rd, New Harbor, ME 04554-4909
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > New Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pemaquid offers a step into yesteryear with a relaxing atmosphere that is reminiscent of early twentieth century summering in the area complete with antiques and a restoration of many original hotel features. We are the closest hotel to the Pemaquid Lighthouse,our rooms are offered at reasonable rates, all rooms have flat screen televisions and refrigerators, and there is internet available but service on the point can be spotty. Many of our guests take walks along the rocky coast, eat lots of seafood, and spend time relaxing with a book on our porch. We hope you consider the Hotel Pemaquid when in midcoast Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pemaquid Hotel New Harbor
Hotel Pemaquid Maine/New Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing