We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We learned the true meaning of relaxation”
Review of Moorings

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorings
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We learned the true meaning of relaxation”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Moorings in New Harbor is, in one word amazing. When we arrived we quickly forgot about our worries and stress and took in the incredible ocean view and comfortable accomodations. We stayed in the Gatehouse, the latest addition to the Moorings and were supremely impressed by the impeccable cleanliness and the very well-stocked kitchen. Everything that we needed was there, right down to coffee filters! We lucked out as our apartment was located right next door to their billiards room. We filled our days with swimming in the pool, soaking in the hot tub, playing tennis, barbecuing, and walking in lush gardens...and we never set foot in our car! Thank you to the owners for reminding us what it truly means to relax and get away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiebeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Stayed here with 2 friends while up in Maine for a wedding and could not believe the spaciousness and value. It was incredibly clean with every amenity one could hope for(a pool, tennis court and professionally landscaped grounds) and the best sleep I have had in a long time, it is very quiet and peaceful with the most comfortable beds. We would all definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellfamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Our stay at The Moorings has been our Maine Dream come true. The morning fog rising over New Harbor was our real-life post card. Tony and Sally thought of every last detail to make our stay in Maine the best we have ever had. Each morning I would look up from my coffee and gaze into the postcard called New Harbor. Our apartment, The Barn, was more than just vacation lodging. It was our home along the Maine coast. My wife and I have dreamed about a Maine coast cottage vacation for years, now we feel like we have found our 'safe harbor'. We will return to take in the hospitality of The Moorings and the beauty of New Harbor many times.

We have just finished our 5th vacation at The Moorings and they just keep getting better. For the last two years we have stayed at The Brackett apartment. This downstairs apartment in the remodeled victorian style "captain's" house has the best view of New Harbor in the area. This year we stayed for 2 weeks and are considering even longer in the future. If waking up to a beautiful view of a working Maine harbor, making a pot of New England Blueberry coffee, walking up to the country store to buy a morning newspaper, fresh cranberry-walnut muffins (still warm enough to melt the butter,) watching the fog roll in or the eagles fly on the horizon, wandering through gardens beautiful enough to be considered one of Maine's botanical treasures, going for a leisurely swim in the elegant indoor pool or playing tennis on the immaculate tennis court and then taking a long time to decide which seafood restaurant tonight (or do you cook your own today?) and then relaxing to a quiet, peaceful New England night is your idea of heaven on Earth, then the Moorings is for you.

I have joked with Tony that The Moorings is like his personal, full-sized train set. He is constantly adding special touches and improving an already incredible facility.

My only hesitation in recommending The Moorings is that my wife and I want it to ourselves!!

  • Liked — The peacefulness and comfort. Also the hosts and the incredible view.
  • Disliked — Too short a visit.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank richbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Serene, tasteful, and relaxing. This captures for us the Moorings experience as return guests to their picture postcard setting in New Harbor. We've just ended a one week stay in their newly purchased and renovated "Gatehouse" bungalow. In its rooms and on its deck (with a view of harbor and ocean) everything is new and attractive, and just feels right, providing a minature vacation home, comfortable in every way. Since it's located at a Moorings entry point, it's closer to a town road and other private residences than most units, but the local traffic tended to disappear after 5:00.

The Moorings complex of apartments, spread over well tended grounds is like a village surrounding a New England Green. The relaxing indoor pool looks out on pines, and there's a good outdoor tennis court. This is a part of coastal Maine that has managed to maintain its identity and beauty. The Moorings helps you experience it.

Each unit is different, so view the Moorings web site for one that seems right for you. Two years ago we stayed in their "Barn" unit for two weeks. It has a great view from its deck overlooking the harbor and ocean beyond. This unit, on two floors, was relatively basic but the peacefulness and view made it special. Be willing to adjust to the bathroom being on the floor above the bedroom.

The Moorings is a good option for couples seeking a low key vacation, and who can commit to at least a one week stay. No children under 18. The owners, Tony and Sally, whose home is located on the grounds, are warm and friendly, professional and efficient.

  • Liked — Its tranquility, location, and views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newenglander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIXVILLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a place to unwind and relax. The Moorings is the perfect place. The accomadations are first clss, ( we stayed in "The Barn"). The grounds are like a garden, full of beautiful flowers.
The deck on the barn overlooks the harbor, and is very peacful.
There is not alot of tourist type thing to do, but that is part of the charm of the place.
A local store is within walking distance, and is amazing in that they sem to carry everything one could want, to use the fully equipted kitchen.
If you a lobster lover, there is plent yof fresh lobster aviable in the area, both fresh and already steamed.
Over all one of the best vacations my wife and I have ever taken.
I highly recomend for an R&R vacation.

  • Liked — everything you could want was there
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sr26da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

There are simply no words to describe the amazing achievement of the Moorings at New Harbor. It is a group of apartments in restored historic houses spread over several acres to achieve a little village-like effect. We accidentally happened on this place a year ago, saw the care and beauty of it and booked a year later. The owners have the most exciting vision for what makes for a great vacation. In one year they have dramatized the property with an adjoining bungalow they call The Gatehouse. We stayed in the Carriage House and it is so comfortable and fully equipped with 2 decks, one overlooking the harbor and the other has a view of the beautiful gardens. It is simply the best. The website says it all. And the new ledge at the Gatehouse is amazing. My only complaint is that they don’t charge enough, but please don’t tell them that.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
23 Thank smithani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

After 4 summers vacationing at the Moorings, I wanted to write about it. This place is amazing, so beautiful, huge landscaped grounds, an indoor pool and tennis court, really high quality accomodations. It is right on the harbor in the most charming Maine village setting. We have had other vacation rentals from hell and this was such a change! Not to mention it is so quiet, being from the city it was the most relaxing time.
We are going back this summer!

  • Liked — Beautiful, secluded and quiet
  • Disliked — Not many stores, things close early
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
55 Thank Lillst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Harbor
2.3 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
147 reviews
6.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
494 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
347 reviews
7.1 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings

Property: Moorings
Address: South Side Road, New Harbor, ME 04554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > New Harbor
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Number of rooms: 234
Also Known As:
Moorings New Harbor
Moorings Hotel New Harbor
Moorings Maine/New Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing