We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to buy and or eat fresh Maine lobster”

Shaw's Fish & Lobster Wharf
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in New Harbor
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Corona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to buy and or eat fresh Maine lobster”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

While visiting New Harbor Maine we found this great place to buy fresh Maine lobster to either eat their, take home and cook or for an extra $1 a pound they will cook it for you in about 15 minutes. You can order it in the morning and pick up until 8 PM but all orders have to be in by 7:30 pm if you want it that same day. Also their sweet potato fries and grill Haddock are excellent. Great pricing, food in a friendly relaxed environment. You can eat inside or out and at least one night a week they have a live band down stairs in the bar. It over looks the bay/ocean. This place you want to go to if you like lobster and seafood at very reasonable prices. We paid about $50 for 8.5 lbs. of fresh Maine lobster cooked.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    144
    69
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It may be bustling and next to the water but the food is served on paper plates with plastic cutlery and is all self service, so for the price not that good. Food just seemed to be shoved onto the plates with my fish hidden under a monster serving of chips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll in Maine”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've eaten lobster rolls all over Maine and there are many good ones. However, Shaw's tops them all for a true Maine-style roll. So little mayo you're not sure it's there and big chunks of lobster meat flowing out of the roll. All this while sitting in the quaint harbor of New Harbor. Excellent!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Blackened swordfish on plastic plates with plastic fork/knife at $16.95 left much to be desired.
Salad iceberg lettuce in styrofoam bowl was anemic, fly competed for our meal. No atmosphere, no ambience. Will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So glad we found the place!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not only did we have a wonderful lunch, but we watched the lobstermen bring in their catches for weighing and sale. Shaw's has indoor and outdoor seating, we sat outside, gorgeous day and drooled over those big ones being brought in!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank artistwanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw's Fish & Lobster Wharf also viewed

New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Pemaquid, Mid Coast Maine
 
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Round Pond, Mid Coast Maine
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Shaw's Fish & Lobster Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing