We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the money for the "Suite"”
Review of Bradley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bradley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I booked this hotel thinking it was located in Bar Harbor. We could not cancel our reservation anymore and thus decided to spend two nights in New Harbor. We arrived in total fog and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. We thought we just get out of there the next day. We stayed in the Suite which was located in a building next the to main building. The Suite was not really a suite but more a rustic experience. One room with one king was downstairs and two beds are located under the roof. I bet it is very warm there when the weather is hot. The hotel photo of the suite is much better than reality. Definetly not worth 400 $ that we spend per night. IN addition you wake up very early in the morning because you have no shades upstairs. Also there is no internet. And the internet in the main building does not function at all. The staff has no clue how to make it work.
However, the breakfast is very good and the staff is very friendly. The next day we had beautiful weather and the whole area was wonderful. The main building and the athmosphere there is very good. Overall i can recommend the place for its coziness but its just too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Bradley Inn is in a fantastic location especially if you are a keen photographer and want those dawn/sunset shots of the lighthouse after everyone else has gone home. The decor of the inn is lovely and the food at dinner was excellent. If the kitchen can resist the desire to overcomplicate things (e.g truffle oil on scrambled eggs for breakfast) it could be very fine indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Just got back to the Bradley Inn after being away a few weeks (were there in June as well) and it was, if anything improved. A lovely new hostess, a young local woman, greeted us when we arrived and we were soon seated in the bar surrounded by other travelers who were enjoying the amazing Wednesday night dollar oysters (the fried oysters are to die for). The garden was in full glory and the evening air scented with beach roses and other fragrant and delightful flowers. We had a glass of wine in the bar before dinner where the bar tender brought us up to date on the local news and enjoyed our dinner on the porch in the slightly chilly but beautiful night air. Our room was a cozy as ever and we had a romantic night, just the two of us in the beautiful setting. We hated to leave. Keep up the good work -- we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed at the Bradley Inn over a long week-end, and was underwhelmed after having read great reviews.

In favor of the Inn is its amazing location, at the tip of the Pemaquid peninsula and within short walking distance of the Pemaquid Point lighthouse and surrounding park. Being able to enjoy this landmark at any time of day, before or after the crowds, on foot, made this stay quite special.

The Inn itself may have had better days. It is probably closed for the winter, and our suite was mildewed, particularly the very small, tired bathroom which had all the comfort of a roadside motel. The beds should have been replaced, they were old and uncomfortable.

Breakfast was the least enjoyable experience. Service was poor, we once arrived towards the end of the window during which breakfast was served, and found little left on the buffet. We only realized the next day that there was a warm course for breakfast, which the wait staff had not mentioned the day before, as they were probably anxious to see us leave. Knowing that this Inn is famous for its restaurant, we had expected much better.

We had dinner one evening at the restaurant, which is the only reason why we'd come back to the Bradley Inn. The three course dinner menu was excellent from beginning to end, and service was much more pleasant than in the morning. Every course takes a while to be served, but the excellent cuisine was worth the wait.

Overall, the Inn is largely overpriced. The restaurant is expensive as well, but truly special.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

The Bradley Inn does have some quaint rooms which do look like the pictures on their website. The website also indicates fine dining which they also have. It's a prix fixe menu which runs around $50pp. The bar has a short tavern menu but it's not traditional tavern fare (e.g. grilled flatbreads, spicy calamari around the $9 - $14 range) all in all, about 9 or so items. If the prix fixe isn't for you, they have a sister restaurant a few miles up the road and encourage dining at either/both places. I had to press for other recommendations which were less expensive options (after driving and shopping for 9 hours, we just wanted an informal meal). We got the sense that we must've rubbed the host(ess) the wrong way because we didn't want to spend that much, but our energy level didn't justify it. We ended up driving back to RT 1 (25 minutes) and did o.k. there.

The decor downstairs is better maintained and appointed than the rooms as the fixtures in the bathroom could have withstood some polishing. Nothing exceptional upstairs to justify the room rate which is about 50-60% higher than the competition. The bar is beautiful as are sitting areas. The grounds were fairly well maintaned; however, the walkway from the driveway, past the kitchen to the front door was in need of sweeping from the dropped, decayed blossoms from the overhanging tree. The other option was to walk the gravel driveway, which for a woman in sandals isn't the best option.

At breakfast the following morning, there were two options for breakfast, both of which were appealing. The host(ess) did stroll through the room at one point but only to get coffee, never asking anyone how their meal was, or to inquire about anything. Later in the meal, her dog did wander through the dining area but was quickly whisked away by the very polite server.

This was our first experience where upon checkout, we were never asked if we enjoyed our stay or that they hoped that we did. Nor did we hear that they hoped that they'd see us again and outside of not dining at their restaurants for dinner, we gave them no reason to not say so. We departed shaking our heads in total disbelief and thinking/saying the same thing at the same time for quite awhile.

Sadly, we had thought about booking this facility for our wedding, but neither of us could come up with any reason to return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flyerfaninCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My daughter and I had a wonderful visit to the Bradley Inn. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised and pleased when we arrived, amidst a thunder storm, at this beautiful out of the way Inn. It was warm, casual and very friendly, with hot tea and treats awaiting quests. Our room was warm and comfortable. With the storm during the rest of the evening, it was so nice to have an excellent gourmet dining room available on site. We were surprised at the extensive wine list and delicious menu presented to us. The next morning with the sun shining we had a wonderful walk to the Pemaquid Point Lighthouse. It is only a short walk there, unless you take the loop, which was well worth the extra time, especially after a delicious breakfast and wonderful coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gramsontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

The Bradley Inn was an unexpected treat during our visit to Maine. It is located in New Harbor 1 mile away from the Pemaquid Lighthouse. What was so unexpected was the quality of food that was provided at the Inn. Absolutely one of the best meals my husband and I have enjoyed during our travels- would rate the chef one of the best ever - presentation, taste and inventiness rivals Blackberry Farm in Tenn. Beth and Warren are gracious hosts and the Inn itself is loaded with antiques and great rooms to visit - The Pub especially.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FKiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Harbor
6.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mid-Town Motel
Mid-Town Motel
#11 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
62 reviews
8.3 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
468 reviews
4.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bradley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradley Inn

Address: 3063 Bristol Rd, New Harbor, ME 04554-4908
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > New Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bradley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bradley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradley Hotel New Harbor
Bradley Inn Maine/New Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing