We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Cafe & Public House

Freedom Cafe & Public House
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
SALEM, MA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lake View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were a little hesitant in visiting the Freedom Cafe because of all the negative reviews. We went there twice this week. The first time was just for drinks to check out a place in Naples that we haven't been to before. We enjoyed sitting on the deck so went to it foe lunch the next day. We had a lobster roll and a lobster cobb salad both were good. Lakerunner and a freedom mary for our drinks on the deck and a very pleasant time. Service was good and Debbie and Rachel were very efficient. Nice day, beautiful lake view, good food, good service and tasty drinks = good times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RUDIMAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    26
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
241 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Covers every dining experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

You can drive here, or boat here & dock. You can eat indoors, on the outdoor deck or even a few outdoor picnic tables have wait service for food from the cafe. There are also non waitstaff picnic tables. If you wish, there is a big tent where you can get a few different mixed drinks, beer, wine & grill food to bring to the non waitstaff tables. Live music on weekends & a great atmosphere. We would love to visit here again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Love going here. If you go ask to sit on the deck. Nice view of Long Lake and it's fun to watch the water activity. The food is good. I have only lunched here. For me it is more about the atmosphere. The interior of this place is as beautiful as the lake view. The wooden bar is huge and a great place to hang out. The staff has always been friendly. The service is prompt. I am always glad when they open for the season. I am a 3rd year regular. This is where I take family and friends when they visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is terrific, and the ambiance inside the restaurant is great, but the food lacks consistency.

Helpful?
Thank bk3104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bad night?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We eat here about once a year and I've thought of it as an average restaurant. This time 3 of 4 people were unhappy with their meals. One person ordered prime rib rare and it came out well done. When it was sent back the the chef's reply was that was the rarest he had. If we had been told that there was no rare prime rib he would have ordered something else. The spare ribs and lazy lobster were also over cooked. The only thing the restaurant had going for it that night was the view from the deck!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NhWishfultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedom Cafe & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing