We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little Irish Pub with music and atmosphere”
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An authentic Irish pub in the heart of the Lakes Region. Created in the spirit of country pubs in southern Ireland, the owner, from Waterford, Ireland, assures us that the tradition and ambiance of a true 'public house' is presented to each guest that visits 'the Bear." The staff are each trained to pour a perfect pint, great food is delivered from the tiny kitchen, including local favorites like Fish 'n Chips, steaks, salads, seafood, burgers, and amazing desserts. Ask your server about vegetarian and gluten free options too.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Used Trip Advisor to find a spot to eat between Bridgton and Westbrook Maine, and this spot was well reviewed, so we tried it. What a great find! It's small, but has outdoor seating too. The staff was friendly. The decor was nice-tin ceilings, big bar,cork menus and faux-leather table tops, with a heavy Guinness theme to the artwork, etc. Took our adult/teen kids, arrived at 530 PM on a Tuesday. Noticed the crowd kept building up, and then the band arrived. They have Irish music most nights, we found out. So cool-local folks who just come in with their instruments and play- take up no space, have no sound system...just the music-very refreshing and pubby! Food was good! We had excellent calamari and an artichoke/ avocado hot dip for start-both were among the best appetizers we ever had. Dinners of Fish/chips, chicken,lobster mac and cheese were good. They have a large selection of pizzas-we had "hog wild"(bacon,ham,sausage) and it was quite good(available in 2 sizes).We visit this area every year to camp, and will certainly make this new place one of our regular stops from now on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oobiedoobieshadooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

So happy we are in a good location for you and your family to gather. It's always a thrill when our guests appreciate the atmosphere as well as the food and service. We know you have choices of where to dine and and we are truly grateful for your business. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to serving you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped here for dinner on a busy Friday night and this place was hopping! The waitress was delightful and very accommodating to our weird dietary restrictions. She even came up with a creative meal suggestion that worked out very well. Vegetarian and gluten-free/dairy-free diets handled.

The menu lists their seasonal fare, but the list was not long, so be prepared for that. What was there was excellent, though!

The fiddler and guitarist got almost the whole restaurant singingnand clapping to "No, Nay, Never" without a blink of an eye. Great music!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarahBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

We are thrilled that you stopped by the Bear - and that we were able to meet your 'weird' dietary requirements, even on an August Friday night , during the height of our season. We have been blessed with sensational musicians all summer and the room erupts into song-alongs, as one of our servers affectionately refers to the occurrence, staff and customers alike, making a joyful noise. Thank you for your kind review and we hope you'll visit us again when you are in our neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is by far our favorite go-to dining option. We love the food, staff, owners, and live music. The Black Bear is family to both old and new. It will be for you as well! Give it a try - worth a visit when you're in the Lakes Region.

1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you so much Tom. It is always a treat to share the evening with new friends and old friends for whom we give thanks every day. Thank you for choosing the Black Bear and thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It is so nice, in the land of lobster, fried seafood and fries, to have a choice of nicely prepared meals, with fresh vegetables, salad, and Irish music in the background! Our group had haddock, shrimp, pork entrees, all delicious. They were quite willing to carefully prepare gluten free dishes for one friend. Prompt, friendly service. We continue to return there each summer, and have never been disappointed. They also offer early bird specials, which are not cut rate in any way, well presented.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beaubrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

WOW! Our talented staff, in the front of the house and the kitchen work together to make sure our guests have a great experience. The Early Bear specials are enjoyed by many who like to get home before the sun goes down, and we are very aware that many of our guests have dietary restrictions which we are happy to oblige. We know you have a choice of where to dine and we truly appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Just dropped our child off at camp - the Man and I were looking for a place to relax and enjoy. There was the Black Bear Cafe in Naples! Sat outside under tent on a temperature perfect night, serenaded by fiddle, accordion and vocals.... Perfect treat for the Man and I.....

Thank Zelda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

So delighted that we could add to your visit to Naples, ME. It thrills us when the experience 'hits the spot', thank you so much for your very kind review. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next year when you are in our neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing