We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details”
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An authentic Irish pub in the heart of the Lakes Region. Created in the spirit of country pubs in southern Ireland, the owner, from Waterford, Ireland, assures us that the tradition and ambiance of a true 'public house' is presented to each guest that visits 'the Bear." The staff are each trained to pour a perfect pint, great food is delivered from the tiny kitchen, including local favorites like Fish 'n Chips, steaks, salads, seafood, burgers, and amazing desserts. Ask your server about vegetarian and gluten free options too.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fine place, but no breakfast, no lunch, Open at four seven days a week. Good Irish music on several nights. Food is about what you'd expect--perhaps a cut above typical pub food. Generous and good salads. Simple is probably best. Fish and chips, haddock, roast chicken all perfectly satisfactory. Very nice, friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I do not suggest you go here to dine. Several in our party ordered the Steak . The Ribeye was nice and tender, but we don't know how it tasted because it was slathered in some dreadful steak sauce. It totally ruined the steak.(it was not inexpensive) None of us finished. The chowder was also sub par. The singer was good, but made it too loud to talk. It's a small place. Go here for the music, a drink and order something inexpensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovestogalavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we are disappointed that your experience fell short of expectations. It is always possible to have sauces or dressings served on the side, as our food is cooked to order. Thank you for giving us a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We found this on our rainy first night at point Sebago Resort last week [Aug 2012] where the kitchen had closed on us. Live entertainment, extremely good food and a great pub atmosphere. We will be back!

Thank JJS12959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are delighted that you found us and we look forward to your next visit to our neighborhood. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Eat at this roadside resturant the other evening. Irish music was playing and food and service was good. My wife had the lobster Mac and Cheese and she reports it was very good. I had the filet and it was cooked just right. Thier is limited seating however they found us a nice place. The owners are Irish and make the place special. Overall a fun Irish Pub in Maine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you. Owner John is from Ireland, as is our bartender Mic Murphy. Both John and Murph were in the industry in Ireland, and while they are American citizens now, they still love being in the pub. We are so happy that you stopped in and enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nice Irish pub with a lovely guitar player. Fish and chips were excellent but breadsticks were stale. Service was acceptable the food was served so fast however we didn't have much time to enjoy the dining experience.

Thank kqbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCMamaBear, Owner at Black Bear Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take it very seriously and work hard to hone the skills of our team so that the experience meets expectations. Points taken. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing