We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Attentive Staff, Wonderful Experience”
Review of Village Side Restaurant - CLOSED

Village Side Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the building that formerly housed Sydney's Restaurant. The Village Side Restaurant and Pub opened on July 4th of 2012. The Village Side Restaurant features fresh Maine seafood and certified beef. Daily specials are available. The Village Side is family friendly and features a kid menu for diners under 12 years old.
Mason, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Attentive Staff, Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My 82 year old mother had seen the new color ad in the Portland paper, so, on our way back from Bridgton, we stopped in for the early bird specials. The menu was varied, but since I was "from away," I had to get lobster. We started with raspberry ice tea, which really hit the spot. Then we shared the featured appetizer of maple glazed scallops, which were absolutely scrumptious, cooked to perfection, Enjoyed every morsel. Mom had the fried haddock and shrimp, with onion soup to start. The onion soup was incredibly good (I had to scrape the cheese off the the bowl). She got two ample filets of haddock and lots of shrimp, enough for a to-go box for later. I had the twin baked stuffed lobster tails, with mashed potatos, and slaw. Out of this world good! Our waitress was extremely attentive and incredibly friendly. We will definitely go back when on Rt. 302, and we are highly recommending it. Open all year, according to the owner, who kindly spoke to us on our way out, with hearty fallish menu items to offer. Well worth the drive up from the city. You'll enjoy it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windham
1 review
“Awesome Server and Bartender”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Jaymes and Amy you both made my family’s night thank you!
the food was great and the drinks where yummy Thank you again
If you have not tried VillageSide your missing out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwild3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy exceptional food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are NEVER disappointed in this restaurant's ability to provide exceptional food, service and atmosphere. The quality of the food and the way it is prepared is obviously well thought out and executed (extremely) well by the owners. We frequent about once a week because we know it will be the one dependable dining experience we will have. Cannot beat the early dine specials; portion size if generous, the quality and selection is second to none. Fried shrimp is fresh tasting and breaded perfectly. A definite favorite. The maple glazed scallop appetizer is incredible.. Homemade blue cheese dressing would only be better if it came in a fifty gallon drum- AHHHMAZING. VS's wait staff makes you feel as if you are the only diner in the room. McKenzie and Kristina are PERFECT for their guests. Ask for them, you'll be glad you did! Go! You won't be disappointed. Really.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Food in Naples”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

So many restaurants in the lakes region rely on the view rather than the food. Not the case with The Village Side. There's no water view and the décor is quaint, but the food is excellent. My favorite is the Manic Lobster. It is a baked stuffed lobster stuff with scallops and shrimp in a yummy sauce and covered in melted cheese! It was sheer poetry I almost ordered a second one but I contented myself with going back later in the week. My wife had the shrimp scampi with linguini and on the second visit the prime rib. Both were excellent. The green beans were perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. Even the baked potato was excellent! The wait staff is friendly and attentive but not at all pushy. We head back to Naples in August for another week and we will be back at the Village Side!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Marc_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can't beat the $10 specials. Food is excellent and service was great. Fish and chips were so good, nice batter. prime rib tender and great flavor. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing