We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay, but wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Augustus Bove House
Ranked #2 of 5 Naples B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate stay, but wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Based on the other reviews from tripadvisor, we expected a much more pleasant stay. Our room was noisy, which must be an ongoing problem since there was a sound machine and ear plugs available for use. The bathroom wasn't that clean; we found stray hair on several of the shelves, and the towels were dingy and looked like they'd been used a million times over many years.

Also, something worth mentioning is the overall abruptness of the innkeeper. She wasn't particularly welcoming and seemed like she was in a pretty sour mood during the duration of our stay.

I've stayed at many B&Bs, and this one just happened to be off-putting. I wouldn't stay again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Review090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene S, Owner at Augustus Bove House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We have been very busy, although responses have been very positive so we are not sure who this was. but we do wish guests would mention any problem or dissatisfaction they have had while they are with us so that we may address the issue at hand. Although many have truly enjoyed our home we are unhappy that soneone was not satisfied so that we could make any corrections necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ended up at the Bove after reading the reviews, and so glad we did. It is a majestic 200 yr old farm house with lots of character and charm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, pillow top mattresses were amazing!
Even as great as the B&B is, the owners made our stay unbelievably perfect. Arlene and David are gracious and humorous hosts. We were made to feel welcome from the time we arrived to our departure. Treated to a warm spicy apple pie just before bedtime and awakened to blueberry muffins and eggs/bacon. We won't forget our experience and if ever back in the area would certainly return to this fabulous home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmc0685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Location is right on Causeway - super convenient. The owners are wonderful and you truly feel like a treasured guest in their home. The rooms are spacious and fun to look through. Our room had a private deck, fireplace, and a king bed - all beautiful. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adinalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

In Naples, ME my wife and I were looking for a place to stay for a night and discovered "The Augustus Bove House B&B," an historic house right across the road from beautiful Long Lake. It happened to be next to the former Bartlett's Riding Academy where my wife was one of the instructors who gave horse back lessons to kids from the surrounding summer camps during the mid sixties. As an 18 year old from The Netherlands, that is where I met her for the first time. Anyway, that is another story... Fortunately there was a room available at the B&B on the 2nd floor at a reasonable price. The room was nicely decorated in keeping with an historic house, had a modernized private bathroom, a very comfortable king size bed, and a small flat screen TV. The owner recommended Mercer's restaurant, where we had an enjoyable dinner. Breakfast was served in a large dining room with 5 or 6 tables set for 10 people each. Although we could have sat at an empty table, we joined two seated couples who were enjoying their French toast and eggs. Several kinds of home made muffins and blueberry bread were on the table and coffee from the "Keurig" machines and a variety of tea were available. We ordered scrambled eggs with bacon and wheat toast. After the other couples left, we had a fascinating conversation with our hostess about the history of "The Augustus Bove House" and how she and her husband ended up buying the place about 28 years ago and the many changes that have occurred in Naples over the years. If it weren't for the fact that we had other commitments, we would have loved to hear more.
The B&B has 10 rooms and two cabins. It is a wonderful place to stay in the Sebago Lake region and we recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelis 'Kees' O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Augustus Bove House is a treasure....the "honeymoon suite" was spacious with its own lake view deck, kitchen, and seating areas. The house has interesting furnishings and comfortable charm throughout. Breakfasts were generous and included delicious home baked blueberry muffins along with an egg dish, bacon or sausage, fruits, juices, and choice of coffees and teas - outstanding! Hosts Arlene and Dave are very welcoming and interesting...you can have a very enjoyable Maine vacation here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had a very nice experience at the Augustus Bove House just a short time ago. The host and hostess, Dave & Arlene are both witty, engaging and made me feel right at home. The former Naples Hotel is charming and comfortable. I would recommend a stay at this Bed & Breakfast for anyone who is looking for a low key experience in the scenic Sebago Lakes. Every need was accomodated and the owners were truly interested in making my stay a very pleasant one.

Jean K.

Room Tip: The suite on the first floor had all the amenities and was comfortably furnished and steps to the de...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

we've spent the last 5 years @ "THE BOVE".... whether we're alone as a couple, or with babies/children in tow.... we always experience a happy, clean, very comfortable & memorable experience. we share our time @ THE BOVE with our dear friends & cousins ritually. and we all look forward to home prepared breakfasts by arlene, the rooms are comfy clean & well stocked w/ amenities just in case we forgot something. we've had the good fortune to stay in a variety of the private rooms in the main house, as well as more recently, staying in the one and two bedroom cottages as our family has grown- all great choices!! we're across the street from a gorgeous lake, fun for jet skiing & relaxing. one summer, we had a newborn, & Arlene surprised us w/ a rocker in our room! she may not advertise it, but she helped us out in a pinch & babysat for us too, making our weekend a great balance of kid and adult fun too. kudos to all your details! looking forward to visiting again in July 2013....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.4 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
12.5 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus Bove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Bove House

Property: Augustus Bove House
Address: 11 Sebago Rd., Naples, ME 04055
Location: United States > Maine > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustus Bove House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustus Bove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Bove House Naples, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing