We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great homey and cozy Bed & Breakfast Place!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustus Bove House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augustus Bove House
Ranked #2 of 5 Naples B&B and Inns
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great homey and cozy Bed & Breakfast Place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I gave it a "very good" instead of an "excellent" due to the fact that they don't have wifi. Our room was clean the bed was comfy and the bathroom was roomy. We didn't have a balcony but it looked out to trees. The great thing about it was that you had so many things within walking distance. The best thing by far is the full breakfast. The people were nice and very accommodating. My husband and I had the Green Room, we were lucky to get that room everyone else was booked,
I would highly recommend this B & B.
The Tessiers from Chelmsford, Mass.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Augustus Bove House is a great Bed & Breakfast place to stay at. This was the first time we visited Naples, Maine and we had a great time. A friend recommended the Augustus Bove House and we were not disappointed. The owner, Arlene, was extremely friendly and made our family feel as if we were regular guests. The room was very large but cozy, superbly decorated and was immaculate. Breakfast was prepared individually for each person by Arlene and the food was cooked to perfection. This is one of the few places we found that allowed dogs and even Murphy, our Goldendoodle, had a good time (at least we think he did). We only stayed for two days but it was so relaxing we felt like we ere there much longer. If you like lake activities (e.g. Jetskiing) there is plently of fun things to do on the lake which is across the road from the B&B. I would unequivocally recommend this place to anyone and everyone who is visiting Naples or surrounding area in Maine.
L. Scot, NJ

Room Tip: If you plan on eating in your room, want a little more space or want easy access to the outside (esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Alberta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stumbled upon this b&b, and love it's old style interior. It's clean and the owner is very layed back, friendly and helpful.
We had a room on the first floor with a patio, looking out on the water. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My son and I enjoyed staying here. Skiied nearby Shawnee peak. Visited St. Joseph College.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

My daughter made reservations for her family of four (two children 5 and 7) and her father and me for a weekend visit to her 89 year old grandmother in a neighboring town. That was the weekend of Hurricane Irene which devastated many areas of northern New England. She called and asked the innkeeper if we could reschedule due to the extenuating circumstances. Arlene agreed. (As it turned out the inn was without power for a portion of that weekend.)
We rescheduled for Columbus Day weekend by way of a telephone conversation with Arlene who confirmed verbally that we were booked into the Maroon Room as originally planned and my daughter's family would be on the third floor in adjoining rooms.
My husband and I arrived first and were told by Arlene that she had made a mistake and had no rooms for us after all so she had arranged for two rooms at a nearby B and B. When I said we needed three rooms she acted shocked and aghast that we expected anyone to accommodate CHILDREN!
A frustrating half hour later Arlene came up with a B and B about 6 miles down the road (in the opposite direction from great-Nana's house) that could take us.
Throughout the whole transaction Arlene was unpleasant and dismissive. We firmly believe she had no intention of honoring her agreement to reschedule us, since she could pocket our first night's deposit while rerenting our rooms for the full price. She did pay for our first night at the other B and B, but it was far less money than the original deposit which we had paid.
Some people should not be in the hospitality business. My advice: book someplace else in the Naples area. In addition to the disagreeable hostess, the house is right on the main road and the road noise is horrific. The house is old and in poor repair.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have been traveling to this part of Maine for the past 8 summers, as our children attend camp nearby and we come for visiting weekend. In past summers, we've stayed at truck stop motels, chain hotels and even rented a lakeside cottage. This was our first experience at the Augustus Bove House (although we've passed it numerous times before) and we've already made our reservations for next summer.
We traveled with my in-laws. We stayed in the King Room and they stayed in the Green Room. Our room was bigger, but their bathroom was bigger. We had a small fridge in our room; there was a slightly larger one in the hallway outside the Green Room. We also had a Keurig machine in our room. Most of the rooms are one room with a private bathroom. There are two "cottages" with full kitchens available as well. There is a common sitting room inside and a common patio out front. Some of the rooms have a private balcony or patio as well.
The hotel is based in a house that was built in 1810. Arlene and David have decorated with antiques throughout and admittedly, much of the house is true to that time period. The rooms do need some wallpaper or painting touchups. The dressers are antique (my mother-in-law said that some of the drawers were difficult to open in their dresser). But, this is Naples, ME. Don't arrive expecting luxury. Instead, arrive appreciating the charm of the timeperiod represented by the house and by the hospitality of your hosts.
Arlene is 75 years old, and admittedly is ready to sell the house - either as a B&B or really as just a house. She is a little set in her ways and very much old-fashioned - no hats in the dining room, no cereal in the tea cups. But the eggs and pancakes were delicious, the muffins were warm with fresh fruit, and she even brought us out warm pieces of coffee cake or chocolate cake in the evening! Again, this is not a hotel - it is not a place to come-and-go at all hours. When you check in you get a key to your individual room, not to the house. Arlene locks up when all the guests are in. But, if you need a place to stop for a few days, walking distance to Long Lake, Sebago Park or many of the restaurants on the lake, it is great.

Room Tip: Check out the website for a description of each room and if in doubt, call Arlene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LawMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed for three nights at this great B&B run by Arlene and David. The rooms are furnished in a style of yesteryear and the dining room should be listed for its heritage value. The hosts and owners Arlene and David were the most accommodating people we came across in our 3 month trip through Maine and the Maritimes. We were a bit sad when it was time for us to move on but our memories of this place will never fade.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
10.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
12.5 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus Bove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Bove House

Property: Augustus Bove House
Address: 11 Sebago Rd., Naples, ME 04055
Location: United States > Maine > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Augustus Bove House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Augustus Bove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Bove House Naples, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing