We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!!!!!!”
Review of DEW Haven

DEW Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please visit our website for hours and pricing!
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I HIGHLY recommend this animal kingdom & sanctuary to those wanting to look at domestic, exotic, and or wild animals!!!! The owners are very courteous, & knowledgeable, and truly do a lot of good for the animal kingdom! Again....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    13
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dew Not”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I confess to not being a fan of any type of zoo so if you like zoos you will probably disagree with me. Mt. Vernon is lovely and a great setting. I just feel that this is not the place for exotic animals and feel sorry for them. Especially the ones who should be in a warmer climate. If you do go, top it off with a swim at the town beach on Minnehonk. There is no fee for the beach. Open to non residents too. Maine Wildlife Park is more my style as they only have animals native to Maine that cannot for one reason or another be returned to the wild.

Helpful?
18 Thank maineayuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice people.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice people who try, but place was muddy and animals didn't seem to have enough space and seemed like there were too many odors. Gave donations to help them out, as I think they are trying to save some unusual species.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
13 Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You see real animals-better than a picture book”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've lived in Maine for over 40 years. The Animal Kingdom has been here since 1980. This was our first visit. Many of the animals have been rescued from other parts of the country. They have black bear, deer, parrots, Guinea hens, pot belly pigs, kangaroos, wallabies, coyotes, goats, camel, water buffalo, spotted leopards, black leopard, bobcat, lions, tigers, hyena, monkeys, coatimundis, tortoise, alligator and more. The white and colored peacocks run free.

For a dollar, you can purchase a cone of food to feed the cages with purple tags. The fallow deer and goats nibbled from your hand. The bear had a special tube to drop the food down to him. His breathing echoed up the tube. The hyena had a load gutteral sound. When the lion roared, the birds squawked.

I suggest going on a cooler day. Even though the pen areas are clean, the animals are not house broken. The walkways are dirt and inclined. They are somewhat uneven. Bob and Julie have dedicated their lives to these animals. It is a huge commitment. The families we saw were enjoying the experience also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusettes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Unique Experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

In the middle of central Maine is this fantastic animal sanctuary. We were lucky enough to arrive right at opening and Bob Miner, the owenr, took us on a tour. He is extremely knowledgeable about each and every animal's situation, and it is evidently clear that he is extraordinarily passionate about what he does. Seeing the animals respond to him as he walked to each cage was touching as they truly know he is their savior. My kids absolutely loved it and so did I. A must see if you are in the Belgrades!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BFamilyMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DEW Haven also viewed

Been to DEW Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing