We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be back”

Abel's Lobster Pound
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Mount Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

In 2005 we had a meal at Abel's and loved every minute of it. We were treated like family and never forgot what a fabulous meal we had also. In August of 2014 we rode by Abel's and my husband and I both said "that's the place." So we stopped and had another fabulous dinner with excellent service. Wish we could eat here more often. The steamer's were excellent and the lobster oh so sweet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Eventhough their menu does not have a wide variety , they have the best lobster ever. Great blueberry pie and great service. We have been twice there when we anchored in Somes Sound and we will go back with some friends. Eventhough the outdoor eating area is VERY inviting avoid it at night, the mosquitos will eat you alive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oswelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Able's is a distinctive lobster pound and a little more upscale that the others available in the area.
Table service outdoors is beautiful. Lobster is good. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltonfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Sat outside, had lobster rolls and blueberry ale for lunch with a gentle breeze. Great service for our party of 10--we all left full and happy. If there is a heaven, this is pretty much it for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Way Too Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place was recommended by a friend, so we were expecting something decent. For our party of 4, we had one beer each, 2 orders of lazy lobster ($33 ea), 1 order of bow tie pasta fettuchine with lobster ($33), and 1 order of the large lobster steamed dinner ($35). For this price, we were shocked that salads were a la carte! We ordered 2 dinner salads ($5 ea) and 1 caesar salad ($12!!). Our bill was $222 with the tip!!!! This is no fancy restaurant, so we were shocked. The atmosphere was OK - decorated nice, and the outdoor type porch had a partial view of the water but a lot of trees blocking it. The bathrooms were actually accessible only by going out the restaurant door outside to the bathroom door!! This would be awful if the weather was bad. Getting back to the food: The salads appeared to come from a bag - on a scale of 1 to 10, all were about a 2. The dinners were OK - but all were at least $10 overpriced for a casual lobster pound. There are too many other lobster pound type restaurants that I should have considered.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairreviewinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abel's Lobster Pound also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Abel's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing