We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Spectacular View”

Abel's Lobster Pound
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Mount Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
600 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great Food and Spectacular View”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My partner and I recently had lunch here. Granted it is a bit off the beaten path, but we loved it. The food was great and the harbor view from the outside picnic tables was spectacular. The service was also exceptional. If in Bar Harbor - check it out. PS don't be put off by the large lobster industrial cranes you see as you first enter. From the picnic tables outside the restaurant you can hardly see them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daksterinwaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
34yearemployed, General Manager at Abel's Lobster Pound, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Why thank you; the view is spectacular, it does make up for the entrance to the restaurant doesn't it!!!!

We love to hear you enjoyed your experience, we pride ourselves on Great Food and Great Service......we hope the rest of your vacation was just as great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view, little pricey”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Had lobster, cooked outside in boiling seawater in a special cook house by the sea. View of the water was tremendous. Service was prompt and the welcome we received was outstanding. The price was a bit high for what we got, but the food was great, presented well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank may12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
34yearemployed, General Manager at Abel's Lobster Pound, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We love when people enjoy our view, your are right, it is tremendous.

Seafood can be a bit pricey and it changes daily for us, we are happy to hear the view and service made up for the price.

Hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Owner was drunk”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Knowing that this restaurant was just opened for the season we decided to go to dinner. The view was incredible. _when we walked through the door we were greeted by a very inebriated lady...when I asked my server who this was she said the owner. We decided to leave and went into the town of Northeast Harbor for dinner...never again...

Helpful?
4 Thank Cyndi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive High Quality Food in Rustic Fiord Setting”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Lobster Ceasar Salad and Blueberry draft beer made a delicious lunch in beautiful setting with very pleasant servers. Family operation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not as good as some others”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The one disappointing meal on Mount Desert Island. Abel's was pricier than Thurston's or Cafe Dry Dock, but not as good. In fact, it was about the most expensive meal we had and I couldn't understand why. We ate there at night and the atmosphere was OK, the service neither good nor bad, the lobster OK. Unlike other places on the Island, we didn't get a choice of soft shell (which I prefer) or hard shell, we were just served hard sheet and it was a bit dry and tough. The steamers were quite good, but not worth the hefty price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abel's Lobster Pound also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Abel's Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing