We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somes Sound View Campground
Kingston, New York
1 review
“wonderful location and quiet”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

its our first time camping,and its off season and weekdays, the manager in charge is friendly and accommodating on the phone. the camp site... #10: MAGNIFICENT view, the mountain, the somes the sunrise. what else can i say, the reason why 4 only, coz the ladies bathroom has no toilet tissues and somewhat dirty. and definitely we're going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruztheorn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Western MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We camped the first week of October and shared the entire campground with 2 or 3 other campers who were spread out. So we enjoyed great privacy! We are afraid if it were peak season or full, it might be a little noisy. As others have said, the bathrooms/showers were large and very clean, but at a high price. $1.00/5 min is by far the most expensive price I've seen for showers. The requirement for tokens is an added inconvenience. Likewise, the $5.25 for the smallest bundle of firewood I'd ever seen in 30 years of camping is steep. That said, where-ever you go on the island, there are bundles of firewood available for $2-5. It was unusual to find the water and electrical hook-ups at opposite ends of the site, but with our pop-up camper CAREFULLY positioned in the middle of the site, we could reach both utilities with our 25 foot hose and electrical hook-ups. We never met the owners/hosts except in passing as we were leaving. My wife was concerned but we had no additional need for services. Instructions were left if we needed anything. I'm not sure what would have happened if we ran out of shower tokens!! My final complaint was apparently a neighborhood women and her friend were taking a morning walk. They were talking very loudly at 6:30 AM. My wife and I are early risers, but appreciate the need for "morning voices". There are closer campgrounds to Bar Harbor, but this was convenient to the entire island, which we like to take advantage of. We have stayed at MOST of the campgrounds on Mt. Desert, and as is true with any camping, each site has pro's and cons. I can't think of any campground that has any better privacy or cleaner bathrooms than this one. The gravel roads were nice, I'm just glad we stayed in site 20 with our 20' camper. It was nice to see deer walking thru the campground several times, and if we were kayakers, would have loved the proximity to the sound. I would come back, but next time, will likely complete the circuit and try the last small campground (we avoid the RV-parks). The cost of the showers is the single biggest deterent from rating this campground higher. $0.50 showers woudl have rated excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAS367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I spent a week in September 2013 at the Land Ho site at SSVC. After an initial mix up due to other campers not aware that the original site (Anchor) had been reserved and paid for by me (and who occupied it anyway), Land Ho site ended up being home, and the best choice in my opinion because of the unobstructed Somes Sound views and the added privacy away from the rest of the waterfront sites. In the off season (after Labor Day), the campground office is not staffed full time. Deb, the campground manager/owner, was not aware of the mix up until the following morning and apologized and extended every courtesy she could for the week, not to mention being extremely courteous and diligent. She was a pleasure to deal with.

Getting back to the site - it would be very hard to top the visuals offered by the awesome backdrop and spectacle that Somes Sound is. From sun, to sky to clouds to moonlight, not to mention the splendid ocean and mountain scenery, it was pretty much the most perfect and relaxing vacation one could have. Just spectacular; the perfect combination of sensual pleasures: sight, sound and smell in fantastic surroundings. Whether you fish, kayak, powerboat, go biking, hiking or stay stationary, you will enjoy the waterfront campsites., The weather was great until the last day which helped enhance the stay. The waterfront sites are a little pricey, but worth it. I definitely recommend it and will surely be going there again.

J. Evans
Ashland, MA

P.S. Deb - thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Minas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The campsite was full when we booked for the beginning of August, so we ended up with a tent on a large RV site, but that was okay. The staff were so friendly when we booked, and also when we arrived. There are games and toys to borrow from the office, which is lovely when you're travelling with kids and don't have a lot of space in the car. There is a small playground with a playhouse, but the kids loved it and it's conveniently located near the showers/toilets so you can hang around while waiting for someone as well. The whole camp site is very quiet and clean and the campers keep to themselves. Everybody seemed to be using it as a sleeping spot for Acadia, so it was empty a lot of the day. The pool is very nice and a lovely addition. It's also great to take a walk down to the water in the morning or the evening. The whole camp site is quite small compared to other grounds, which also makes it peaceful.

The shower/toilet building was in good shape, with full-enclosed toilets and showers. I wish the showers weren't pay showers, that would be my only criticism. Nice open field for the kids to play with a ball and run around, and a quarry with paddle boats and fishing if you're interested. Not a great campground if you want lots to do at your tent area, but perfect for Acadia and not many mosquitoes or bugs either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadaustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Somes Sound for 5 nights during August and had a very nice stay. The campsites are close together and covered with gravel. This is fine if you are not in a tent but since we were it was a hard surface to sleep on and a waste of the possible soft pine needle beds from the trees. But that is about the extent of the complaints I would have. The campground office was accommodating and helpful and facilities clean and well-maintained. Bonus was that there are no typical pest animals--skunks, raccoons, rats, mice. We really loved our time on the "quiet side" of MDI!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SajeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We decided to stay at Somes Soundview after 2 visits to Seawall campground because we wanted a place with a few more amenities, namely showers. The waterfront site Land Ho was small but the location was unbelievable. The sunrise over the mountains each morning was fabulous. Location close to southwest harbor was a plus, as well as the pool, which was great after a long, sweaty hike. The bathrooms were clean and large, and the location of water stations was adequate. Overall, it was a lovely vacation, and definitely a redo.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice campground but would probably not go back. We have a travel trailer and the layout of the sites are not logical for hook-ups. The proper location for hook-ups should always be on the right side of site. Many of the sites at this campground have the water on one side and the electricity on the other. Some sites, like the one we had, were completely backwards with the water and electricity on the left side.

The biggest problem with the campground is that there is no RV dump tank. If you want to dump your tanks, you have to go down the road to some State Park and pay $20 to get in and dump your tank.

I think this is a good campground for people who are tenting but for RV'ers, I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
6.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
6.9 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somes Sound View Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somes Sound View Campground

Property: Somes Sound View Campground
Address: 5 Spinnaker Way, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6521
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mount Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somes Sound View Campground is a small campground centrally located on Mount Desert Island along the rocky coast of Maine. Enjoy the peaceful setting surrounded by gorgeous woods, mountains, ocean and natural wildlife. See everything Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park have to offer, join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somes Sound View Campground Hotel Mount Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing