We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really RV friendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somes Sound View Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Desert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somes Sound View Campground
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not really RV friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We called months in advance and asked for a private, wooded site to stay in our 27ft RV. They gave us the 'perfect' site. When we showed up, the sited were all really close together. We had to drive into someones site in order to park the RV in our site.

The map was very deciving. It made the sites look secluded when they were in fact, really close.

The fees were terrible. It cost $15.00 to use the dump station. EACH TIME! The showers were $1.00 for 5 minutes of hot water.

The view of the sound were very nice but you had to walk down a ways to get there. There is no parking at the beach. You can not even ride your bike down. This was a problem seeing as one person in our group has a back problem and was unable to walk down.

I do not believe we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here ten years ago and absolutely loved it. Back then, there were no frills (no pool, no playground, the quarry was off limits), but those aren't the reasons we go camping. The campground itself is clean, but the sites are closer together than we remembered, possibly to pay for the obnoxiously huge house [the owners] have built in the middle of the campground heading down to the water. Although the bathrooms were spacious, they need to be clean/serviced more frequently (I still have an enormous bruise and muscle soreness from slipping and falling on the linoleum floor outside the shower--the towel-on-the-floor system they have for absorbing the water just doesn't work--it's a lawsuit waiting to happen). The worst part was the dependability of finding someone when you needed him/her. Their office hours are posted as 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., but at least eight times someone from our group went to the office for help/information and found a note that someone would be back shortly (one time, may husband about ten minutes). Also, pool hours were posted as being 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. On our last day, we went to go swimming at 7:15 to find someone covering the pool who said the new hours close the pool at 7:00 p.m. When changing hours, they should go site-to-site and notify people, leaving a notice when people are away. The pool was also very cloudy, which means it needs chlorine. We do not base our entire trip on the campground where we stay, and we had an amazing trip because of all that Acadia has to offer. We fully intend to camp the island again. Unfortunately, we will not be repeat campers at SSVC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Maine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were scared to stay here. We booked the place and then read the reviews on trip advisor and were scared about facing the lady in charge of the place. However, she was extremely nice and very helpful. We stayed in one of the cabins...it was basically an oversize icehouse. It had bunk beds. The bunk beds were not traditional bunk beds, but built into the wall. It was hard for our daughter to get to the second bunk as there weren't any stairs, but we just lifted her up there. There were 2 outlets in the cabin and a window, but that's it. HOWEVER, we knew what we were paying for when we walked through the doors. Certainly, very rustic. When it started to pour out, we were very happy to have the cabin. For camping in a tent or pop up, I would definitely tour the campground first. Some sites appeared on top of each other, but some sites were AMAZING. There were some sites on the ocean front that were out of this world. In fact, we are thinking of booking one for next year. Just incredible views. The camp store didn't have much, but that's okay there are plenty of places within a short driving distance including a Shurfine store. There is a pool. The only thing we didn't like...the bathroom. Although the individual stalls appeared to be great for privacy they are obviously harder to keep clean. Not the cleanest bathrooms. We would stay there again but mostly for the amazing views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sunapee, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have been coming here for a number of years and there have been many improvements made over the years. New pool, new bathhouse, roads upgraded.

Pros: Great location. Quiet. Nice tent sites ( some platforms but make sure your tent can sit on a platform). Nice views. Great waterfront tent sites.

Cons: Expensive showers ($1.00 for four real minutes ... other campgrounds charge $0.25). Dumping fee for RV's starting at $10.00 per dump (have never run into this before). If the older lady is on duty (not the owner), beware as she is hell on wheels and will make you regret staying there. The owner, on the other hand is delightful to deal with as is the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Largemarge929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weare, nh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed a week in Bar Harbor and then decided to try to find a place to camp for the night on our way back home. We found this campground on a map we had and decided to take a swing by to take a look. As we pulled in, there were signs stating to stop at the office to check in, but nothing stating we couldn't drive through and most places will allow you to do so. We began driving through and had to turn around and when we did, the nastiest lady we have ever encountered showed up speeding behind us in a golf cart. She scoffed at my husband and asked if we were staying there. He was quite polite despite her attitude and explained we were just looking for a place to stay for the night. She continued to yell at him saying she didn't allow people to drive through and we needed to go back to the office. We headed back to the main road with no intentions of staying there at that point. It was clear from her attitude that she did not want nor need our business. She continued to follow us out of the campground with a nasty glare on her face the entire way. I am actually glad this happened because I would have been upset if we had paid to be treated so terribly. The campground was on the water, but sites were very cramped and no privacy at all from other sites and obviously from the owner as well! People camp for peace and tranquility not to be harassed and locked down by a warden!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

ANCHOR waterfront site is the best. Fantastic mountain views over Somes Sound. Last site on the road so private and quiet. Bathrooms recently updated, clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at SSVC on late June 2011 for the first time. We had reserved a cabin (Barnicle) and it had comfortable double bed and bunk beds for our two teenage children. The cabin was very clean and the site was relatively private with a lovely view of the sound. Many people were enjoying the inground pool, and there were fields to play in and a small quarry with pedal boats. We were inpressed that the other campers did a good job of being respectful about noise- the only ones we could hear were a large, loud family in a private residence somehow situated in the middle of the campground (the owners or renters??) The campers themselves were friendly but quiet. Sites down by the water had lovely breezes and could hear the water at night. The bathhouse was impressively clean and hot water was only $1/five minutes. We definltely would recommend this campground for families, couples or those who seek a quiet, fairly private, picturesque camping experience.. Also, this campground is baasically surrounded by Acadia National Park and is an easy drive to anywhere in teh Park. You can also leave your car at teh campground and walk about ten minhutes to a free island shuttle bus that goes all over Mt. Desert Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Pitkin117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Desert
6.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.7 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somes Sound View Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somes Sound View Campground

Property: Somes Sound View Campground
Address: 5 Spinnaker Way, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04660-6521
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mount Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somes Sound View Campground is a small campground centrally located on Mount Desert Island along the rocky coast of Maine. Enjoy the peaceful setting surrounded by gorgeous woods, mountains, ocean and natural wildlife. See everything Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park have to offer, join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somes Sound View Campground Hotel Mount Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing