We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb fried scallops”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jake's Seafood

Jake's Seafood
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Moody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jake's Seafood is a casual, family style restaurant one mile from the Wells/Moody beach. It is know for fried clams, homemade onion rings and lobster rolls. Dine in or take out available. Off season we have daily specials of homemade soups and sandwiches in addition to our regular menu. We offer many gluten free options. We also carry a full line of old-fashioned ice-cream delights.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb fried scallops”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had ordered a small fried scallop plate..was not really small just the right size. I am glad I didnt get a large. Delicious is the only word to describe the scallops. Fries were ok, good enough but I didnt go for the fries. Cant wait to go back again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    152
    61
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place may be casual but it is fast and gives you the option of eating inside or outside. Fried clams are delicious and the onion rings are out of this world. Great flavors of ice cream offered as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gloriamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not a huge selection to comment on”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Jake's was right next to the hotel I stayed at so figured I'd give it a try. $9.95 for a clam roll with a bag of chips was a decent price, the roll was grilled and buttered wonderfully but the clams gave me a big of a flashback to the HoJo's clam plate, even tho they were full bellies. Not terrible but not as great as fried clams can be and that was all I had there. The people working were nice and I do like the clam shack feel of the place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick, Fast and ultra casual”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Bathing suits acceptable. Quick, casual and excellent fresh seafood. A staple in our quest while in Southern Maine. Take-out is as good as eat in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilmaggie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

been coming here each time i visit the area the menu is good the staff is very nice but the price is right, good seafood, excellant clams and haddock. i love the clam cakes and fries are awesome real potatoes yes they do breakfast again great value and awesome home fries the best in the area no spices or veggies in them just good old fashion potatoes

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikeman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jake's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing