We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come every year!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shining Sails Bed and Breakfast
Newmarket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Come every year!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you like the ocean and walking trails that lead you to amazing cliff side views you will love Monhegan. We are hooked and return every year for wonderful friendships and the slow pace. Great place for painting, photography, hiking and relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smudgie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Love Monhegan! It's a place to escape the hum-drum of one's every day life and become involved in the lives of the islanders. There's always something happening, both planned and unplanned. The SS is a special place. Right across from the Monhegan Library and sheltered by an enormous and magnificent tree. The rooms are comfortable but most of the furniture, rugs, and linens are old, torn, and not very clean. A bit grungy. When you run of of essentials you have to search for help. Sounds crazy that I continue to return but love is a funny thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GuessWhoIIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stay there every summer and have formed wonderful friendships around the breakfast table! It's like going home! It's great to be away with just your feet to take you every where. Beautiful walking and hiking trails, artists, jamboree at the church is a highlight of talent and now the Cottage Connection has entertainment also. The way life should be!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smudgie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

...and we'd stay there again, but we'll try out the Island Inn next time, because the Island Inn restaurant was superb, it has stunning views, and it appears to be several steps up. Some of Shining Sails rooms had kitchens, so if that is important, stay at the Shining Sails.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Overall I had an enjoyable stay at Shining Sails and the location is fantastic. I have not stayed at other locations on the island so I cannot compare. However, my one complaint is that my mattress and pillows were definitely musty smelling although the rest of the room was clean. Breakfast is very basic -- muffins, bagels, cereal, so if you want something more hearty you will need to go somewhere else to eat (and it seems most of the others inns do serve a hot breakfast, which is a nice touch given the limited eating options on the island.) The B&B does have internet but my access was intermittent. I would stay here again -- Monhegan Island is more about the place than the accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Stayed in room 5: incredible view of the ocean and a huge deck overhanging the garden. The gas fireplace came in handy for the cool evenings. Standard breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, bread) as well as FANTASTIC muffins. Also, they provide free internet access for guests!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

Shining Sails is the best of Monhegan. Go for the quiet, the beauty, the simplicity. If you are looking for feather beds, room service and in-room movies, save the ferry fare. All accomodations on the Island are "rustic", simple, uncluttered, no-frills. Shining Sails rooms are generally small, but fit exactly what the brochure says they will. An afternoon nap in the backyard is blissful. Go when the crowds are down, bring a book, a camera and your imagination. Monhegan is for dreamers, hikers, birders and sleepers. Get some chowder from Sherm, bring your own plate for dinner at the Novelty, fish off the dock, hike to Whitehead or just hunker down in your room at Shining sails and snooze listening to the gulls and commuters (migrating birds). If your extra nice, Kyle might give you a skiff ride to Manana for an isolated hike and picnic lunch. Just don't mention the RedSox if they are having a bad year...again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Yanks26WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shining Sails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Sails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Shining Sails Bed and Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 346, Monhegan Island, ME 04852-0346
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shining Sails Bed And Breakfast Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing