We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming retreat”
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The only place to stay on monhegan island. Many nice walks to,take and lots,or,art galleries to visit, although a lot seemed amateurish. Good good, poor service. Terrific e views. Stayed in a separate cottage that was ok. All in all worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for The Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

To sit on the front porch of the Island Inn, sipping a cocktail, rocking in the rocking chairs and taking in the harbor and sunset is a fairly sublime experience. The Inn is a gracious old building dating back to the early 1900's. The room (many of them) overlook the harbor as does the dining room. Check in staff was excellent and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet, but a very good one. Food and service in the restaurant otherwise was a bit spotty, but mostly fine.

We had one room in the Inn and two in the Pierce Cottage, a separate and newer building just to the east (away from the water) of the Inn proper. Rooms there were great for a family of four, very well kept and perfect for our needs.

Overall, we were very happy with our two night stay. It is a very good option for a throw back stay on a lovely island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoulderBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this charming inn a few years ago and really enjoyed our visit. The dinner there was quite tasty too. The rooms reminded me of my childhood and visits to old shore towns, before they were overtouristed. Too many tacky restaurants and souvenir shops ruined many places, but not Monhegan. But too many non-environmental tourists ruined the building of fairy houses here because they stripped bark off the trees and moss off the ground. Residents have posted signs asking tourists to NOT build more fairy houses. Instead, make one in your own backyard at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Inn is wonderfully located overlooking the water and Manana Island. There is a wonderful deck and lawn area filled with Adirondack Chairs - relaxation at its best. Watching the boats rock in the water, sipping a glass of wine and taking in a sunset - how much better can it get! We had a room with a private bath on the second floor; we had a view up to the lighthouse. The Inn is neat and clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. I would recommend the Island Inn and Monhegan to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent one night at The Island Inn - our first visit - and we had a wonderful time hiking around the island, enjoying the fresh seafood, the beautiful views from the porch and a most peaceful location for R&R. We will be back! The Front Desk and Restaurant Staff were courteous, helpful and professional. Joshua was the best of the best! He transported our luggage, made us feel very welcome and was a true gentlemen. The Inn offers a public refrigerator for guests - MOST helpful/welcomed.

Room Tip: Upper floor with ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights on Monhegan Island in July. Having never been there we booked this inn online and could not have been happier. Lovely porch overlooking the small harbor. Room was small but very comfortable We had a private bath which was very nice with a good shower.
It is odd that the island has no bars and the restaurants cannot serve alcohol in that every store, even the ice cream shop, sells beer and wine.
We brought some wine and they served it at dinner. The restaurant is excellent as well.
The trails were nice and the views are incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful days on the island which has terrific walks, and a thriving artist community. The Island Inn is traditional in style, and very personable. The restaurant was unexpectedly good, and everything was as fresh as can be. There is even a new craft brewery on the island. Next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: Bring good hiking shoes.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WardWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
16.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
16.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
15.2 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
209 reviews
15.7 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range: $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing