We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn in an incredible setting”
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great inn in an incredible setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Simple but refined, friendly service, delicious food, incredible view. Stepping off the ferry onto Monhegan Island wharf is almost like stepping into an older, simpler time (except for the ubiquitous cell phones). The inn provides a great experience in and of itself, and provides a great base for exploring this wonderful place. Just got back and we're already planning when we go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    55
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freedom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is an old inn. Not fancy. Great food for dinner and breakfast. Very expensive, but it's on an island ten miles out to sea. We love Monhegan and we love the Island Inn. That's it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diningdiva045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely restored INN on a small island off the coast of maine, we had a king suite with a bath in Pierce Cottage behind the main inn, overlooking the meadow. Sat on the porch at nite watching the fireflies. The food, both breakfast (included) and dinner were great, service wonderful. The island is a bring your own alcohol. Wonderful hikes and beautiful vistas.

Room Tip: There are some with shared baths, reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okiedover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I was shocked and pleased when we arrived midmorning and our room was ready! The desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is amazing...an old, comfortable place quite unlike any place I have ever stayed. We felt isolated yet protected and cozy.

We hiked the island all day and ate dinner at the inn. Don't forget to get your own wine from the store nearby. Romantic ambiance and attentive yet unobtrusive service. Breakfast was the bomb! Offered any food you can think of and then some, and it was all delicious.

The room itself was spartan but charming in that authentic New England way. Lovely painted floors and simple, tasteful furnishing. Our third floor location offered a postcard pretty view. My only complaint was that there was no hot water in the shower and also no water pressure to speak of. I could not wash my hair after hiking all day because I would have never been able to get the soap out. Plus it was cold. With no heat in the room, I was thoroughly chilled when I got out of the shower. But I will cut them some slack on that since this is a remote location. It's expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, with a king size bed overlooking the harbor. The inn is simple but clean comfortable, and makes for a perfect base for exploring one of the most beautiful islands on the Maine Coast. a good restaurant in the hotel makes the stay very easy, Highly recommend both the Inn and Monehegan Island. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in one of the ocean view rooms. The room was comfortable and clean, with a warm and comfy down comforter. We had a corner room, so had two different views that were both beautiful. We ate dinner at the Inn. It was pricey, but delicious. You must understand that everything is brought in by boat, so things are more expensive. For those of you that like wine with dinner, be prepared to bring it or buy it in the small store on the island and the wait staff will serve it. After dinner, we relaxed in the library by the fireplace. It was fun to talk with other people staying at the Inn. There is no central heat, so be prepared to cuddle when you go to bed! :) A full breakfast is included and was good, too. It is served buffet style, with additional eggs and pancakes made to order. Hiking and art galleries are close by and well worth your time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCoyoteinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is the most expensive place we stayed during our trip to Maine, with the most modest room, but it was still entirely worth it.

Monhegan Island is about an hour's boat ride away from the coast. We chose to depart from Port Clyde. (There is a lighthouse nearby the docks which we decided to visit -- so glad we did!) We had made reservations for the boat trip in advance, so we parked and picked up our tickets inside the small gift shop. At the boat, we were greeted by the captain and his dog. The captain kindly suggested that if you think you'll get seasick, it's better to sit outside up top. We're not sure if it was the dramamine we'd taken or the seats up top, but either way we did not feel seasick at all. It was great to sit up top and absorb the view from the mainland to the island -- gray, foggy, misty. We kept out eyes out for puffins, whales and seals, but no luck this time. When we arrived at the tiny dock at Monhegan, there were townsfolk to welcome us and trucks ready to pick up supplies.

The Island Inn is only a short walk up the hill from the dock. What a picturesque place! We stayed in an ocean view room with a shared bath. The room was small but adequate. The shared bath was not a problem at all; we never had to wait and we never ran into other guests. There is a sink inside the bedroom which limited the need for the shared bathroom.

The food at the Inn is excellent. We made a reservation for dinner which was candlelit and romantic. There were quite a few guests at the Inn so definitely more of an inn feel than a B&B. The porch was a great spot to sit on a white rocking chair, read and watch the ocean and birds. There are lawn chairs, too, if you want to get closer to the water and out from under the porch awning. Inside, the common room had a fireplace, and there was also a small study. Just across from the Inn is a small bodega called the Barnacle where you could buy wine (dinner is BYOB) and sandwiches and other amenities. The next day, the breakfast buffet (included in the price of the room) was plentiful with lobster scrambled eggs, blueberry muffins, pancakes, roasted potatoes, juice, bagels, cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, and if that's not enough, you could even order from a menu! During the day, we visited the island's galleries and small shops before meeting our boat that afternoon to head back to the mainland. This ride was much calmer and sunnier.

During the trip, we heard the someone comment, "If you have to ask 'What do you do on Monhegan Island?,' then you probably shouldn't go." Very true. Monhegan is a place to totally relax, not have an itinerary, and just go with the flow... rest, read, visit the local artists, and hike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANL8135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
10.8 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
16.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
15.7 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Property: The Island Inn
Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing