We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place To Stay on Monhegan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Monhegan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Monhegan House
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place To Stay on Monhegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

I just got back from a wonderful, relaxing week at the Monhegan House. It is a comfortable, clean, and friendly place where all the creative, talented artists, writers, photographers stay as well as vacationers. You never know who you might see there and strike up a friendly conversation with. Yes, the bathrooms are shared but very clean. If you want great food, comfortable beds and a non pretentious atmosphere you will love it there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Number22NewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for just over a week and were deeply disappointed by the owner's overall attitude toward his guests. He was unwelcoming, unaccommodating, and had an overall demeanor of just barely tolerating the presence of his customers. If you can't be hospitable, why be in the business of hospitality in the first place?

As for the food, we only had breakfast there and, with the exception of cereal and eggs, it was less than appealing. Pancakes were particularly dry and chewy.

Outside of our accommodations, we had a wonderful time on the island and will return, but just won't be going back to The Monhegan House.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cobaltsky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brambleton, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

The owners of this place make it very clear that you are at their mercy. While there are a ton of other bed and breakfasts available on the island, their demeanor is such that you are the low-life who is lucky to be there.

They are rude and not customer oriented. A perfect example is when we ate at their restuarant, they refused to allow us to use the bathrooms. They lock these up (for some strange reason) to their patrons. You, therefore, have to go someplace else which is super awkward when you're in the middle of dinner.

Filty, dirty and unkempt. I would highly recommend staying away from this dump.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
7 Thank FrogForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

We loved the Monhegan house! Shared bathrooms, no keys (Just a latch inside the room, antique furniture, no tv, and wonderfully friendly staff. Off course the paint is chipping here and there, and the furniture is well worn, but it only adds to the charm of the place: It's like going back 100 years in time - it really adds to the charm of the island. If you are looking for a luxury environment with all the amenities, this is not your place, in fact you should stay away from Monhegan altogether. The lobby was very cozy with plush couches, board games and books. There is also a family room with tables, and free hot beverages. Breakfast was simple, good and copious.

The hotel may seem expensive given the lack of amenities, but this is an island_everything has to be shipped in and shipped out and the owners can only count of a very brief season.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Quaint and friendly
  • Disliked — a bit pricey for extended stay
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

The Monhegan House is a lovely place to stay, provided you don't mind sharing toilets and showers located on the second floor. They do have a few rooms with their own bathroom - spend the money and get one. The breakfast (included in the room price) is wonderful - hardy and made to order. The location is great also, first arriving it may seem like a long walk and then you realize it's in the middle of all the sights you will be seeing. The dining room was open during our stay and the dinners were great. This place has alot of history originally built in 1870. I love the gentile rocking chairs on the porch positioned to catch sunset and evening breeze helping you recover from all the walking you will be doing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom/showers
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MmelaWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

We visited Monhegan for only one night and stayed at the Monhegan house. I was apprehensive about the shared bathrooms but there are plenty of them and it was sort of nice to see other people in the halls etc. It was sort of a nice communal experience if you are into that.The bathrooms seemed to be cleaned well. There is a nice gathering place for children on the lawn next to the hotel so if you aren't into having lots of children around this is not the place for you. The island is peaceful and slow-paced. People were friendly everywhere we went. We ate dinner at the hotel which was fabulous and inexpensive and the breakfast was PERFECTION. Delicious eggs Benedict.

  • Liked — antique atmosphere, like stepping back in time
  • Disliked — cost to get there by boat
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

This was our second stay at the Monhegan House in the past three years. The hotel is nothing fancy, but it offers a pleasant social that is in keeping with the charater of the island.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Amenities are a bit sparse
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaxsxaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
17.3 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.3 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#2 of 3 in East Boothbay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monhegan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monhegan House

Property: The Monhegan House
Address: PO Box 345, Monhegan Island, ME 04852-0345
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Monhegan House Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing