We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Top Family "House" on Monhegan Island”
Review of The Monhegan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Monhegan House
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Top Family "House" on Monhegan Island”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The end of July always finds us at the Monhegan House. We see some of the same families every year and catch up on how our children have grown if we have enough energy after hiking. The new families and travelers always add spice to the easy and friendly conversations. The beds are the newest on the island, as is the paint, and plumbing. We opt for our own bathroom which makes our experience a bit different than some of the others who have posted. We have done the shared bathrooms, and they are clean and convenient on the second floor. The hiking is fantastic, but we love knowing on the trails that we will be back to the "house" in the evening. The library evolves yearly, the art does as well, and thankfully, the classics in the game room are all still there. Every night there are chess games, Risk, Scrabble, Backgammon and brave Apples and Oranges judges. The kitchen at the "House" has been fantastic for the last several seasons. Using local and seasonal fare, each breakfast-which is included!-features a chef's special. My favorite this Summer was the crepes....paper thin....with fresh strawberries and cream-so rare treat when done well! As we stay for several days, it is wonderful that the chef's specials change daily. While there are a few places to eat on the island, we prefer the kitchen at Monhegan House for dinner. Inventive cuisine, with island flair and staples the kids will eat....did you hear about the "Novelty" yet? The "Novelty" is just behind the "house" with the best pizza on the Island....so even if you do a "date" night with your partner, the kids can get pizza and play frisbee in the yard. With the best of "Island" living-great guests, great hosts, great food, great easy atmosphere-Monhegan House remains our "home away from home" every July.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, my husband prefers the suites with the private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The island is so stunningly gorgeous it is hard to say anything bad!! The Inn is very clean, BUT know that when they say "shared" bath, you are sharing w/the entire floor!! We were on the 3rd floor in a small ocean view room which we liked, the showers were on the 2nd floor so bring your robe & flip flops! There are NO fans or AC so beware in the heat of the summer. Next year we will pack a mini fan. We had a lovely organic sea trout for dinner & a very nice breakfast too. The showers & bathrooms were very clean. There is a frig on each floor for you to keep your wine/beer cold. The rooms can be locked from the inside, but not from the exterior---leave your valuables @ home. The island is VERY casual so no need for anything dressy.
Because of the bathroom situation we will be staying @ the Island Inn next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We didn't stay at The Monhegan House, we just went there for dinner for a change of pace. The gnocchi and shortcake were really good but the strip steak was super tough and the mashed potatoes flavorless. I ordered the prix-fixe and asked for a different dressing on the salad, anything but what was listed, and was told that was impossible because as a prix-fixe there no substitions were allowed due to price differences. I expressed incredulity as it's just salad dressing and asked the waitress to talk to the kitchen, she came back and said that they would do it. I don't know if it was her or how she was trained, but it was pretty ridiculous. I wasn't changing the salad or the entree or even the sides - just the dressing! Still, I might go back for the gnocchi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtrippernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited with family from NY and everyone had a fantastic time. Holden and Susan at The Monhegan House could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The building itself is beautiful and well maintained. Updates are apparent throughout. Rooms were clean but a little hot at night, although the sea breeze usually cooled them off enough. I was a little weary of the shared baths but to my surprise they were new, clean and somewhat private...no big deal at all. Don't let them deter you from staying here, it's worth it! The food was amazing, the best meal of my vacation which included 5 nights in Bar Harbor so that's saying something! Coffee was available in the parlor early in the morning which was nice. They offered children's options which were great for my 5 and 3 year old. On that note, this island is not a good place for children who need to be "entertained" but if your children enjoy the outdoors and exploring new things they will have endless things to do on Monhegan as ours did. My teenage cousins had a fabulous time too, it was great for them to be exposed to something so unique and out of the ordinary. Hiking and swimming, looking for sea-glass, touring the lighthouse, building fairy houses in Cathedral Woods, the tug boat wreck off Lobster Cove and the breathtaking views from Whitehead cliff... I could go on and on about our time on Monhegan but i will just say I am looking forward to returning to Monhegan and the Monhegan House again someday soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaR6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I love this inn. I stayed in a single on the top floor and must say it was one of the greatest views for the price. The restaurant on the other hand, I do not recommend. The service is terrible. The wait staff gives preference to the locals.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RMJ060176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here, 8 women, for a painting retreat. 4 were painters, the rest came for vacation and relaxation time. What's not to like? Its quiet, no tv!, no cars, no city noise at all, you can walk everywhere and the hiking is fantastic! Lobster rolls on fish beach every day, and homemade pies across the street at the Black Duck. I loved trail 5. Every view is amazing. The room we stayed in, room 27, had been overhauled and had luxurious bed, comfortable beyond belief, 1 queen and 2 twins with plenty of room for our stuff. The toilets are down the hall and I did not find this to be a problem at all. Showers on the second floor, no complaints other than it would have been nice to have a sink in the shower "room" but so be it, you have to cross the hall to brush your teeth. Life could be worse. My only real complaint with the Inn was the coffee! It was awful. In this day and age, of delicious coffee available everywhere, to serve dishwater style coffee was a total disappointment. Next time I will bring my own, but jeez, folks, this is not a difficult thing to upgrade to!

Room Tip: Get room 27! Stay away from room 2 (too close to the porch and lobby so noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBG40894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Like nowhere else on earth. There were 18 of us for a family reunion over the weekend. Service was outstanding, refrigerators available, pristine bathrooms, deliciously comfortable beds, abundant breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeignStaffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monhegan Island
10.9 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
152 reviews
16.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
16.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
212 reviews
15.8 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monhegan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monhegan House

Property: The Monhegan House
Address: PO Box 345, Monhegan Island, ME 04852-0345
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Monhegan House Monhegan Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing