We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Monhegan Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
31
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry dock art galleries lovely room every morning three nights susan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

John Sterling Harbor house was very accommodating. There were several relaxing spaces to sit and watch the island activity and Wow what a sunset!! Susan’s breakfast was very delicious. The 18th century house was clean and well cared for.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

I have stayed here several times now and always look forward to coming back! Susan is a great host and makes an incredible breakfast. She was happy to accommodate my husband’s need for a gluten free diet. The Adirondack chairs overlooking the ocean/harbor are quite the spot to sit and enjoy an amazing sunset or a cup of coffee in the morning.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bethgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We had a great stay at this B&B. It is relatively small and holds just a few guests, which my wife and I prefer to the larger accommodations. The room was basic, but quite comfortable and charming. We had free run of a kitchen area. The breakfasts, prepared by our very friendly hostess, were excellent. The location, right at the harbor area made it easy to get to and from the harbor with our luggage and, of course, gave us immediate access to the main part of the village. We highly recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Our three nights at the John Sterling Harbor House on Monhegan Island were a true delight! Conveniently located a few steps from the ferry dock, the inn was centrally located for whatever we wanted to do—hiking the 17 miles of trails (including one that circumnavigates the island), perusing the art galleries, visiting a local craft shop, adding to our life list of birds during the spring migration, enjoying a cold one at the local craft brewery, dining while overlooking the water, or taking in beautiful sunsets at the end of the day.

Breakfasts were outstanding and left us able to skip lunch entirely or get by with only a snack before dinner. Descended from the original settlers of the island eight generations ago, we had much to learn from innkeeper Susan Finkin about the history of the island and daily life on it. Susan’s hospitality went above & beyond, and her warm, welcoming spirit ensured a more than comfortable stay.

Monhegan is small, quaint, and relaxed. So, too, is the inn—a peaceful reprieve, indeed.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 2garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Vivian did it again. Another great island adventure. This one on Monhegan. The John Sterling Harbor House was our base of operations. This is an ideal spot. It’s just up from the ferry dock. Breakfast is fresh every morning. Your right at the center of island life with out it being on top of you. The microwave and fridge give you the option to eat on the cheep. However the temptation of the food at The Island Inn just across the road may be hard to resist.
The Sterling house puts you at the center of the Island and its history. It is still owned by the original family going back eight generations. Tranquil down east views are out every window. What a great fined.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thraycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews