We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and marvellous place to eat!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from a rather glorious evening out! We arrived with 4 little people in tow ( plus 4 adults ) and although the pub was fully booked they made us feel so welcome and slotted us all in for dinner. The children played outside running and checking out all the animals. The food was delicious, the service brilliant , and the pub a huge delight, beautifully decorated. If you haven't been to The White Horse then you must go! A lovely evening with fabtastic hosts , thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for The White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the very best places I have ever stayed and I travel a huge amount for work. A beautiful, quintessentially English country pub serving food that will put a smile on anyone's face. I notice they are listed in the Michelin guide and wonder how long it will be before a prestigious star is awarded - it's that good!! Fresh, clean and modern accommodation backing onto fabulous countryside is backed by a warm and friendly welcome by all. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a five star English countryside experience without the expense? Stay, eat and drink at The White Horse Inn @ Compton Bassett. I could not fault a thing, excellent service, great rooms, delicious food and friendly staff. A real find.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had such a lovely stay here. We were made to feel very welcome by Tara, Danny and all the staff. Great food, romantic setting, good sleep, fab breakfast!
Our pleasant, comfortable room (5) in the accommodation behind the Inn opened up onto a small patio, then to the adjacent countryside, not overlooked which was lovely.
The Inn interior is tasteful and well maintained. We really enjoyed a first class, delicious meal in the restaurant, such attention to detail! After this feast we took our drinks out and sat in the garden enjoying the peace as the stars came out. It was quite magical as there are no street lights in the village. It was both mine and my husband's Birthday, and we felt so lucky to have found such a gem.
We slept soundly, then had a treat in store. Breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruit salad, home made granola, yoghurt, juices, cereals, followed by an excellent cooked breakfast, such tasty sausages.
Really interesting walks nearby.
Lovely place to stay, very peaceful, and friendly thoughtful staff. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivienneW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a perfect 1 night stay at the White Horse. It's a beautiful pub with lovely restaurant & good B&B accommodation, in the beautiful village of Compton Bassett. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner Tara and all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed. We were in room 3, which had doors on to patio overlooking a field with sheep, pigs & geese in it....all lovely and very peaceful. Overall, couldn't fault it and would highly recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A birthday to remember with a 15-strong family gathering for lunch at the White Horse Inn. A gloriously sunny day brought gridlock on the roads and heavy delays for a number of our party. But Tara and Danny were so accommodating and managed to reschedule a busy kitchen so that we were able to sit down as one.
All the food was up to the usual high standard we now associate with the Inn, the children and adults alike all enjoying their individual selections. My dessert choice of assiette of apple was so light and refreshing, after the excellent home-produced roast pork and the Cornish crab starter.
The White Horse Inn staff are always friendly, helpful and professional, with Tara conducting front of house proceedings with finesse and Danny obviously maestro of his kitchen. We shall continue to recommend the Inn to friends and family and intend to return soon.

(Mrs) Julia Jones
Burbage, Wilts

9th July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Thank you to the whole team for making our stay over the last two nights, during the lead up and after our daughter's wedding at The Wellington Barn. Bed and breakfast, evening meal plus the staff made it an exceptional place to stay. Couldn't do enough for us, particularly our champagne breakfast on the morning of Emma's wedding. Particular thanks to Tara and Cordie for their attentive service. If you have a wedding coming up in the area, could think of any place better to make your base.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Bassett
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
197 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
286 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
642 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Dove Cottage
Dove Cottage
#1 of 2 in Compton Bassett
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: Compton Bassett, Compton Bassett, Calne SN11 8RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne > Compton Bassett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compton Bassett
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** The White Horse Inn, Compton Bassett is delighted to have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence award by Trip Advisor! ***The White Horse Inn is an Award Winning, family run 18th century country inn. Beautifully positioned in the Wiltshire countryside, we are only a few miles from the Avebury stone circle, Marlborough & Bath. Our area is famed for its' crop circles in the early Summer.We have 8 superb newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, all with flat screen digital (freeview) TV's, tea/coffee making facilities and heated towel rails in the bathrooms.Set on a few acres our accommodation is a separate annex to the pub & restaurant, with most of our rooms overlooking our resident pets in our paddock. We are a Free House and have a wide selection of bitters (come and try our local real ales - we are CAMRA accredited) and lagers, an excellent wine list and a wide range of single malts. All our food is prepared on the premises using the finest local ingredients where possible, meals can be tailored for if required. We specialise in traditional English Fayre, fresh fish & local seasonal game. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant.We are proud to announce we have recently received a very prestigious award - Winners of the Best Restaurant & Pub Award for Wiltshire 2012. We are also recommended by Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay'. 'Exceptional Places to Stay' The Daily Telegraph. Please note our bar & restaurant close Sunday evenings and Monday lunchtimes/evenings, however, our B&B is open 7 days a week offering a full choice of breakfast.Our check-in times are after 6pm. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Calne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing