We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit on your northern vacation”
Review of Baxter Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baxter Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must visit on your northern vacation”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are looking for value and comfort any time of the year for your vacation, a great place to visit is The Baxter Park Inn. With various choices for room and bed sizes, a pool, 2 hot tubs and extremely clean rooms, this is a great value year round. It is located on a busy main street close to many amenities and restaurants, shops, etc. Take a drive north on the Golden Road and visit Abol Bridge for sweeping and breathtaking views of Mt Katahdin, or stay in town and visit all that Millinocket has to offer. The staff at Baxter are over the top friendly, helping you find your way around town and telling you all about what the area offers, as well as making sure your stay is what you expect for your vacation. The rooms are secure, with keycard entry, include microwave, refridgerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, as well as a blow dryer. Private bathroom is also a plus. There is a soda machine as well as ice machine in the hotel so if you need a cold drink. The cons are few, and can be overlooked because of the quality of the visit. The coffee offered could be a little better and the beds a little softer. Those would be the only two things I would change. Another pro for this quaint little inn is that there are snowmobile trails that begin right behind it, so no driving around looking for places to park and unload. Take off right from the parking lot!

Room Tip: choose a room facing east for breathtaking views of sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokadjobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you folks very much for taking the time and effort to review our property! It was a truly a pleasure to see you again and to have the opportunity to serve you and we are so thankful you included us in your anniversary plans!

We appreciate your thoughtful comments...It is so gratifying to be complimented on the things we are working so hard on! Even now, I should be putting the finishing touches on another room, as we are sold out for the coming weekend, but I really wanted to thank you!

I have always had compliments on our coffee, so I am sorry that was not to your taste...but much like bed firmness, it is one of those things that can be be VERY personal in nature (in terms of your personal preference). We thank you for your business!

Again, Happy Anniversary and MANY happy returns! We look forward to serving you time and again, perhaps on EVERY future anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    100
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
83
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I would recommend this place to everyone. Very nice place and very clean. The owners really care about their business. Talked to the owner for over half an hour and learened a lot about the area. Very nice place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to review our property! It was a pleasure to serve you and we are so thankful you included us in your plans! It was a pleasure to meet and serve you and we thank you for your business! We look forward to serving you time and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western MA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Baxster Park Inn is the ultimate location for great snowmobiling. Awesome trail access, gas next door, HUGE parking lot, and a great value. The hotel is clean and well worth the price they ask for. It's not a fancy place, but I feel it easily reflects the price range they are in. The guy at the front desk was extremely friendly and they even have a daily posting of grooming reports and current trail conditions. You couldn't ask for more if your looking to stay somewhere while snowmobiling in this area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedlamBikesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. And we thank you for your kind and accurate words, as well as for your business. If I were going to write an ad for our property, this is very much what it would sound like...but how much better coming from a customer! We are SO happy you had a great time and we will look forward to serving you every time you are in Millinocket! Have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this property for three days and agree with reviewer lakeswan on all of the points noted. The checkin was performed by the same unfriendly and unhelpful woman and we had to make conversation just to get her to smile. Not a great way to start our stay. The room was always cleaned properly. The breakfast was not great as we hate having to eat or drink from anything made of styrofoam and plastic. However...accommodations are extremely limited in this town so we still would recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NonRev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your time and effort in reviewing our property. We do appreciate your effort and your business as well as your opinions. Drawing from your title, I am not sure what to make of "easily acceptable", however, we will consider that a positive, as well as "clean". We hang our hat on clean and have a terrific staff who ensure that for us. As for your reference to another review, I would just caution readers to read all reviews with a grain of salt....We are doing the absolute best with our property we can and are very proud of it. We, as noted in other responses, are putting more capital back into our property than all other hotels in this area combined. People are coming to a limited service hotel in an economically depressed area and are often reviewing our property comparing it to hotels that now command upwards of $150 - $200 per night...our guests generally pay less than $89. We have the same high energy bills, VERY high taxes (highest in the state) and have not raised our rates in 4-5 years as people will not pay more to stay in Millinocket. So we will continue improving and fixing and listening and doing what we can and we will look forward to serving you again soon and improving your next review. As for the lack of friendliness at the frontdesk, this is inexcusable: there is NO excuse for that and I sincerely apologize ...that issue will be remedied...a smile and friendly greeting are free and are trademarks of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found the Inn to be updated, clean and w/very friendly staff! Perfect location for spending time in Baxter State Park. We heard absolutely no noise from the hallway or other rooms, which is such a plus. We enjoyed the hot tub immensely after spending a day hiking Mt. Katahdin, which to say that is a grueling hike is putting it mildly. We were visiting Maine on our 30th wedding anniversary-- as we had went to Maine on our honeymoon. All of the staff was great-especially the owners. The breakfast was a great start to the day. We did not have time to enjoy the pool this time, but definitely will on our next visit. The small fridge and microwave was a plus to have, as a couple evenings we were so tired we just picked something up to take back to the room to eat. We are already planning to go back next year as we enjoy the area so much! We will definitely stay here anytime we are in the area--- we had a horrible hotel experience the night before arriving at the Inn, so the Inn was an added bonus!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, in the back of the building. It was very convenient to use the back doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
First and foremost, thank you very much for your time and effort in reviewing our property! Many thanks for your kind words and your business: as small business owners, this means the world to us! It was truly a pleasure to have met and served you, especially on such an important date in your lives- HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! We look forward to this becoming an annual event so that we may have the opportunity to visit and serve you more often! Many thanks to you both, we wish you many happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are very few motels in this town. I believe this is why the Baxter Oark Inn gets fairly decent reviews. HOWEVER - it is not all that great. The rooms are large but it is an old motel. Furniture is old - it is dark and dingy. The bathroom was clean but the carpet was way past it's prime. The woman who checked us in was not friendly - nor helpful. On the other hand, the man at the desk when we checked out was very warm, friendly and helpful. The motel sits in the middle of a parking lot - there are no views except for the highway and the parking lot. The "breakfast" room was less than inviting. There were bins of three different dry cereals to pour and prepackaged indvidual danish (from Sams it appears)plus coffee and juice. The "breakfast" room had no windows and was not inviting. We went to McDonad's across the street. I am sorry to be so negative - but it was not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrank2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. I specifically appreciate the comment about the helpful friendly man (that is me, the only man). Thanks! I am discouraged to hear you describe ANY of our staff as "unfriendly", as that is something we constantly score very well on (see other reviews) and am sorry that was your experience. I thank you also for the other compliment we constantly recieve, "clean". We have never hidden the truth that the hotel is older (22 years to be exact) but my wife and I consider our hotel a "turnaround"story...taking an older property in a town with a struggling economy, and scraping capital together to make efficiency changes while going room to room (1-2 at a time, as noted in many other reviews: we are only 1/3 done with our property) and updating/renovating with loads of time and money! It is obvious you were in one of our unrenovated rooms, which are still quite clean and user friendly (see many other reviews) but we have been sold out for many days now and, during the renovating process, not all will be able to be put into a newer modeled room. Our breakfast, as seen and described in many other reviews, including yours, is what we say it is: variety of hot and cold breakfast cereals, danishes, english muffins, hot chocolate, tea, milk, OJ and coffee! I can assure you, however, that the furniture is NOT old: every chair, table and light in our rooms were purchased 1.5 years ago, one of the many improvements we have invested in (new windows in every room, new A/C in every room...I could go on and on! The breakfast room is soon undergoing renovations as well (we are making do with what we have for now) but there is, in fact a large window in it. In closing, I am sorry we were not what you expected (at present) but will look forward, as we continue improving our property (something no one else in the area is investing in) to perhaps hosting you again in the future and gaining a very different review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been staying with the Inn for 15 years and enjoyed the renovations this year. We loved having a fridge and microwave, plus the new windows and jacuzzi shower/tub. I have worked in hotels for 35 years and I love the older hotels. They are so solid and virtually sound proof. We have never heard hall traffic! I also enjoy know that there is an indoor pool for us if we want. The new owner has also upgraded the breakfast and has good choice for people who cannot have much sugar! We will stay here any time we come to the area!

Room Tip: We enjoy the second floor clse to the spa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Firstly, as always, I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review...it is greatly appreciated and I think it truly helps our guests make educated decisions regarding their choices. Which brings me to my second point...thank you so very much for your patronage to us...this means the world to us.

It is quite gratifying to have guests who are able to see the changes we are making and can appreciate what we have been able to accomplish! We are really focused on these improvements and will continue to make renovations and changes that matter to guests! Thank you and it was a pleasure to serve you...again and always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
22.0 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Medway
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baxter Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baxter Park Inn

Property: Baxter Park Inn
Address: 935 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-2124
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baxter Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Katahdin Region, the Baxter Park Inn is just minutes to white water rafting, canoeing, 50 miles of cross country ski trails and just a short drive to Baxter State Park, where guests can enjoy hiking trails and enjoying the scenery. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, an indoor pool, two hot tubs, meeting room space, an exercise room, and local cuisine from the Penobscot Pie Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Baxter Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxter Park Hotel Millinocket
Americas Best Value Inns Millinocket
Baxter Park Inn Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing