We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in no where land!”
Review of Baxter Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baxter Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Certificate of Excellence
Cushing, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in no where land!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is definately dated, but there is nothing I can complain about. The room was extremely clean, you can tell that is a detail they pay attention to. It's good to know that they offer 2 queen beds, we were not able to get one they were all booked, but our next visit we know that it's available. The location is convenient, you can walk anywhere. The walk to town might be a mile, but doable. All the staff I encountered were really friendly. Would return anytime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy51977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review our property! We truly appreciate your feedback. As you note, parts of the building are dated as the rest of the building is/has undergone extensive renovation and updating. As the property is 30 years old, we are going room by room and completely remodeling rooms, which has been extensive in time and resources, but we are very proud of the outcome. The room you were in was not one of those rooms, but, as you note, the double queens have all been redone and are our most popular rooms, along with our kings. Until we can get to the others to renovate (we have 2 under construction right now), we focus on maintaining, cleanliness and staff courtesy and friendliness and it seems you enjoyed all of the above. We look forward to seeing and serving you again and will be delighted to get you into one of the remodeled rooms next time to enjoy our updated experience! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    96
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
82
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Compared to other places we have stayed it ranks average. Room was ok. There were nice touches like a king size bed, microwave, fridge, etc. Linens were comfortable and were clean. Bathroom fan didn't work. Overall not a bad room for the price considering the indoor pool and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our King room and some of our many amenities. We will look forward to serving you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon MI
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. It is easy to find, clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water for showers. The air conditioning worked well, we were also happy that the windows opened so we could have fresh air too. Tim helped us figure out which Baxter Trail to walk based on our expectations and ability, we are walkers not hikers. The continental breakfast had good selections.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion of our property with others! It means a great deal! And sometimes it is nice to know, as your review points out, that things that are advertised simply work! We have been to places before where A/C, pools and jacuzzis are not working...this is NOT how we operate! We are a property who prioritizes having what we have clean and fully operational...thanks for noting this! We appreciate your feedback and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights and the hotel is very clean and economical. It is centrally located with supermarkets and stores close by if you need anything. I would certainly stay here again. The owner helped with restaurant suggestions. My kids enjoyed the continental breakfast. It was certainly nice to walk down the hall and have something for them to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob29511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinions of us with other perspective guests! We truly appreciate your business, time and consideration. It is always nice to hear and see what is going well and to hear feedback on our efforts to make things as great as we can. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Baxter Park Inn! The proprietor, Tim, gave us restaurant suggestions, listed things to do in MIllinocket, told us where to go to see a moose, and even looked up yarn shops in the area for us! Our room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The continental breakfast included good coffee, juice, oatmeal, cold cereal, English muffins and pastries--perfect to hold one over until lunch. We will definitely be back! BTW, thanks to Tim, we ate some delicious meals, went yarn shopping and saw 7 moose in three days!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fireweed553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks you very much for taking the time to write a review...we are truly appreciative. Many thanks for your business and your feedback! It is truly a pleasure to have guests like yourselves and to be able to play a part in making your trip as exciting and memorable as possible! We are blessed to have been able to meet you and serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location, convenient to Baxter Park trails, downtown area, and easy to find. Room was very clean and comfortable-just like home. The owners went out of their way to extend a helping hand when we needed it. Very responsive to our needs. Great place to come back to after a day in the wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so appreciative that you would take the time to review us, it means a great deal...we know how pressed for time life can be, so thank you! And THANK YOU for choosing us and allowing us to be a part of your time in Millinocket! We truly appreciate our guests and strive to provide the best for them, and it is always gratifying to hear of the success of that endeavor! Many, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff at the Baxter were very friendly and very informative about the area.the hotel was an older establishment,but the rooms were very clean.Breakfast was simple(a true continental),but for the price of the room,vey adequate.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us and we find them helpful! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are right, the building is an older property which is why we are doing renovations, painstakingly, room x room, to update and modernize (see images on facebook). Our breakfast is something we are always striving to meet the needs of our guests on, and, currently, by most standards, is well above a typical continental (although that is what we advertise). We offer several varieties of pastries, english muffins, 2 types of cold cereals and oatmeal as well as coffee, orange juice, tea and milk. Again, we thank you very much for making us a part of your trip and we look forward to serving you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
22.0 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Millinocket
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baxter Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baxter Park Inn

Property: Baxter Park Inn
Address: 935 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-2124
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baxter Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Katahdin Region, the Baxter Park Inn is just minutes to white water rafting, canoeing, 50 miles of cross country ski trails and just a short drive to Baxter State Park, where guests can enjoy hiking trails and enjoying the scenery. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, an indoor pool, two hot tubs, meeting room space, an exercise room, and local cuisine from the Penobscot Pie Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Baxter Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxter Park Hotel Millinocket
Americas Best Value Inns Millinocket
Baxter Park Inn Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing