We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay....”
Review of Baxter Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baxter Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very nice stay....”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent one night here while we were touring Baxter State Park. Our room was very clean and well maintained. The desk clerks were extrememly nice and offers a lot of information about the area and recommendations for our visit. The beds were a little to hard for our liking but were still comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments! It is our only desire to provide you with the best quality stay for your dollar!

We do pride ourselves in friendliness and cleanliness.

We thank you for your business and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    100
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
83
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
ny
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This clean and inexpensive motel is run almost like a B and B by friendly and helpful family. My twins enjoyed playing with their son, so kids will enjoy too. Not on the most picturesque stretch of Millinocket but very close to all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank reporteratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDarling_GM, Owner at Baxter Park Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments! We remember you so well and our son loved playing with the twins also...we are fortunate he gets to meet so many great people, as are we!

You cannot imagine how nice it is to hear you compare us to a B&B as that is the atmosphere we strive to create. We want you to have a terrific stay and be armed with all of the info, with only the best vendors in the area by a kind and courteous staff to make the most and warmest memories of your stay here!

It was a pleasure to meet and serve you and your great kids! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were very happy that we chose the Baxter Park Inn this time. A number of years ago we had stayed at another hotel in Millinocket and were not happy with it. The Baxter Park Inn was very clean and very comfortable. My family took 2 rooms which were connected. The front desk was very accommodating considering our plans were last-minute. We got 2 very restful nights' sleep, which was a very important consideration both before and after our climb of Mt. Katahdin via the Knife Edge. I will always choose the Baxter Park Inn from now on when I'm in Millinocket.

Room Tip: We chose 2 upper floor rooms which were connected and they were very quiet and we slept extremely we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler10804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wonderful family that owned this business. Was very refreshing from some large chain hotels. Is an older building but kept up nicely. Breakfast room was very large and good selection. Nice pool and hot tubs. The whole place was very clean. The best thing about this is the personal treatment from the owners. Mr. Darling treated us as if we were long time family friends. We stayed here a few days while sightseeing/hiking in Baxter Park. Good location. Was very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barryjnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The Baxter Park Inn has great staff and we even got personal attention from the owner. Laundromat on premises, close to grocery stores, shopping center for restock and resupply. Although the structure itself is dated, the excellent service more than made up for that. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Totondot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I spent (3) nights at the BPI. Our room was clean and quiet, the entire facility was very bright and open - Clean and well kept! I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff, especially the "Inn Keepers", Tim & Anne Darling - They were very helpful to acquaint us with places to eat, shop, and visit, as well as just a couple very nice people to talk to about our daily jaunts to Baxter State Park and along the Golden Road!

I would heartily recommend the Baxter Park Inn to anyone that will be visiting Millinocket for business, hiking, birding, or just enjoying the views of, and around, Mt. Katahdin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our room was clean and it was quiet but that's the best thing I can say about this hotel. The WiFi was non-existent and the towels were threadbare. Thank goodness we were just passing through for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
22.0 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Medway
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baxter Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baxter Park Inn

Property: Baxter Park Inn
Address: 935 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-2124
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baxter Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Katahdin Region, the Baxter Park Inn is just minutes to white water rafting, canoeing, 50 miles of cross country ski trails and just a short drive to Baxter State Park, where guests can enjoy hiking trails and enjoying the scenery. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, an indoor pool, two hot tubs, meeting room space, an exercise room, and local cuisine from the Penobscot Pie Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Baxter Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baxter Park Hotel Millinocket
Americas Best Value Inns Millinocket
Baxter Park Inn Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing