We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B”
Review of Ice Fish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ice Fish Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Millinocket B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here after going white water rafting on the Kennebec and it was a lovely place to stay. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with a 10% discount, offering to show us where we could view moose, and providing us with restaurant recommendations. The room itself was pleasant and clean, decorated with stuffed octopi, and had a modern bathroom (though more hooks on which to hang towels may have been useful). The collection of books and infinite supply of candied ginger and pecans in the communal area was a nice touch. Perhaps one of my favorite things about staying here was the breakfast, which was included and involved a voucher to the Appalachian Trail Cafe, which was close by and delicious (and offered us an excuse to check out the downtown area). Overall, it was a great experience -- we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'd stay at the Ice Fish Inn if ever in the area again. I'm a germ freak and I don't recall anything that made me uneasy at this Inn. There is a dog that roams the main floor but I'm a dog lover so that doesn't bother me but if you can't stand dog hair, or loving animals, this is a potential issue. The owners have interesting past work lives and are relatively new to the business which shows in their eagerness to be helpful, friendly and provide value. It is nice that guests are given a breakfast coupon to eat a block away instead of on-site - seems quiter in morning than B&Bs with kitchen noise. Also, there was a mini fridge in my room with a few beverages to get me started and more toiltries than one would ever need. It isn't fancy but all in all, a nice spot if you want a really clean, comfortable room for value. No quams about recommending this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lis835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend of hiking and would definitely stay again. The room was perfect with a comfortable bed, responsive heating/cooling, very clean. I arrived late and had a choice of walking my exuberant dog (who had been trapped in a car for the 7 hour drive), or getting to a restaurant before closing. One of the owners offered to walk her for me. That's hospitality! The next day after a chilly, autumn hike I enjoyed a cup of their comforting herbal tea and candied ginger. The owners made sure I was always comfortable and that I enjoyed my stay. It's a short walk to local restaurants, including the classic AT Cafe.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F451Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I spent an absolutely fabulous night at the Ice Fish Inn after spending several days hiking through Baxter State Park. We stayed in the largest room available for less than $150, and it included an extremely comfortable queen-sized bed, and a HUGE bathroom with our own jacuzzi! It was a fantastic, affordable way to relax after hiking Katahdin. Located right in downtown Millinocket, we were able to walk to dinner with no problems. This B&B is pet friendly, and has several resident house pets that were also very people friendly - a nice bonus as far as we were concerned! I would highly recommend this B&B to other travelers!

Room Tip: Room number 8 is sunny, and includes a jacuzzi with a full shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harmony195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

There are a few of B & B's in the Millinocket area. We had a local recommendation to stay here and we were pleased we did. Comfortable, and clean accommodations. The vouchers for the local restaurant for breakfast were terrific ! Would definitely stay and recommend the Ice Fish.

Room Tip: Stayed in the moose room....quiet, nice shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 202chris777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two nights at the Ice Fish Inn in late September - and felt right at home. The owners took every opportunity to make sure we had everything we needed - from the really comfy bed and fresh towels each day, to suggestions for restaurants, and hikes in Baxter State Park, to delightful conversations over morning coffee. Enjoy your stay - we sure did!

Room Tip: Check out the website - pictures of each room are posted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jarsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is very quaint and conveniently located near Baxter state park. I stayed there with a large group of friends for a rafting trip. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were themed with different animals. I loved the basket of toiletries they provided. The mini toiletries are always my favorite part of traveling and they thought of everything. Also they have an extensive DVD library for relaxation after your big hike. They had all the Monty Python episodes and movies, which I think is also a rather important feature for a B&B to provide.

Room Tip: Ask for the fox room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Millinocket hotels
1.3 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Millinocket
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Fish Inn

Address: 177 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-1434 (Formerly The Keepridge Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millinocket
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ice Fish Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ice Fish Inn is a four-season Bed and Breakfast Inn, with seven rooms available (two large pet-friendly rooms downstairs with two queen beds each and five rooms of varying sizes upstairs, each with a queen-sized bed). Outdoor recreation in the form of snowshoes, skiing, snowmobiling, and ice-fishing in the winter and hiking, ATV, paddling, mountain-biking, motorcycle touring, and fishing in spring, summer, and autumn, and general sightseeing year-round are all conveniently nearby.This building used to be the "Keepridge Inn", which closed and was abandoned sometime between 2008 and early 2009. This is now the 'Ice Fish Inn', under new ownership (now living onsite) and new policies as of 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ice Fish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Fish Inn Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing