We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for snowmobiling.”
Review of Katahdin Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katahdin Cabins
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lancaster, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great base camp for snowmobiling.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've stayed at Katahdin Cabins a couple times. My snowmobiling group has found them to be a great base camp for snowmobiling. Their rates are very reasonable and we prefer a cabin over the locally available hotel rooms at basically the same price. We usually opt for the two bedroom cabin that provides room/beds for three and our gear. Skip the manager always makes sure the cabin has fresh baked muffins waiting for our arrival. Though not as new - or expensive as some of the alternatives - the cabins are always clean and comfortable. They are our first option when looking for lodging in Millinocket and we've already booked our next trip with them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
69
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at Katahdin Cabins, called with a short notice and they had a cabin. Cozy, warm, they made us feel like family. Super close to town by foot, sled or vehicle yet felt like it was miles away from anywhere. We even got bagels in the morning...I am not sure if that is a normal operating procedure for them but none-the-less, another reason we felt like family. LOVED the HUGE FLUFFY comforter, I went an bought one for my own bed. Thanks again and see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 581Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins with two other friends on a snowmobiling trip up to the area. It was one of the few places where the three of us could stay without getting two separate rooms. We arrived after dark, but had no problems getting signed in and setup for the night. Even got some cookies to munch on as we settled in. The cabins are small and basic, but clean and have all the essentials. The beds are comfortable, which is much appreciated after a long day of riding. As is the hot shower. The owners were very nice and helpful. The location was great for us to ride into town for food or connect to the major trails. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay and we would not hesitate to come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDroad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were glad to have our private cabin with good hot water and comfortable beds. The cabins are rustic but clean & suitable. Each afternoon we were greeted with home baked muffins/cookies by the owners. Nice yard to play in and the cabins are spaced for privacy.

Room Tip: Ask for bed sizes/availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The cabins are as small as possible, but very clean and seem to be upgrading over time. There is a nice building that has table games, Nintendo, couches and other activities. The owners are very nice. It is easy to miss the place and hard to find at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went here for softball tournament. Got there after dark. There were no signs showing the location and pitch black. Couldn't see your way to the cabin,would have been nice since there was a large hole in pavement right in front of our cabin #4. Was very basic at best. No towel rack or shelf in bathroom. Did have fridge, microwave and comfy bed. Ceiling was falling in and large cracks in the walls. Your much better off staying at one of the several other hotels in the area. They were actually priced much lower and better rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katahdincabins, Owner at Katahdin Cabins, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us - indeed, we wish these complaints had been brought to our attention during your stay so we could have addressed them immediately and/or switched you to a different cabin entirely! We would like to respectfully let you know that several of your items you point out have been fixed/updated - lights have been put up to allow guests to see the grounds/parking lot & cabin numbers more easily - indeed, the town streetlight directly across the road from the cabins which had recently gone out before your visit was replaced too, alone giving much more light to the area. The slightly uneven surface near your cabin step has been filled & smoothed. The loose tile on the ceiling was reattached & the ceiling painted - the crack filled & repainted too. We do appreciate your kind comments on the quality of our beds! Again our sincere apologies about your less than stellar visit to our property, we hope to someday be given another oppertunity to have you stay with us - and if finding a problem please let us know ASAP!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights while hiking in Baxter S.P. the hosts were very helpful, the site was full, yet, very quiet and peaceful. The cabins are rustic, but everything worked. Warm water, heat, lights, tv, even homemade cookies prepared by the owner and placed in the room during the day! Bed was comfy, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
0.8 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
259 reviews
21.9 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Millinocket
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katahdin Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katahdin Cabins

Property: Katahdin Cabins
Address: 181 Medway Road, Millinocket, ME 04462
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Katahdin Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Katahdin Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katahdin Cabins Hotel Millinocket
Katahdin Cabins Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing