We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New England Outdoor Center NEOC - Day Tours
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A great weekend!

The lodging accommodations were fantastic. The units were clean and well maintained. The lodge we... read more

Reviewed August 14, 2018
Dawn M
,
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
We’ll be back!

We found the New England Outdoor Center quite by accident and are so happy we did! The place is... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2018
Ava G
,
Pembroke, MA
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
23
9
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
9
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new england snowmobile moose raft lodge adventure maine
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 36 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015

We did an all-day rafting tour and we were on the river 8 or so hours, including travel time and a nice lunch. This was my 4th ever rafting tour and it is hands down the best one I have ever done. The morning is the quieter day, and while it has your rafting down a waterfall to start out with, it is the more laid-back part of the tour with highlights that include getting out of the raft to swim and barreling down a natural waterslide-esque waterfall. Lunch is great - we had steak and wished at least one of us had ordered the fish because it looked and smelled delicious. Guides are funny and "wicked smaht" about the river. The afternoon is class V and wild. It may not be for everyone. We saw plenty of "swimmers" the day we went, swept out of the raft, but no one was seriously hurt, but it may be intimidating to the faint-hearted, and if you are intimidated, you may forget to hold on or panic. The guides are professionals though and we were impressed. We had "Greybeard" for a guide and he is the man to ask for when doing the trip. Do yourself a favor - book a half or a full day tour with these folks - we will be back!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank SadiByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015

My husband & I recently visited the state of Maine. We spent several days in Greenville, then Millinocket. Supposedly moose outnumber people in upstate Maine, but you can't prove it by me. We saw zero moose in the Greenville area, and paid to go on a moose tour with NEOC in Millinocket. Our guide was excellent, trying to find the moose. First we went on a pontoon boat, all up in coves, and no moose. Then we headed back to land, got in a van & went on the Golden road, there we saw 2 moose. I applaud her persistence. All in all, it was a lovely boat ride & van was comfortable also.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Like the title suggests, if you're looking for a good time, look no further! New England Outdoor Center is the place to be! They have a phenomenal staff! They are knowledgeable in everything they talk about and really kick it up a notch on the presentation of that knowledge with humor. They really know how to make a group of people interested in anything they talk about! Whether its the history of the river while you're on it, the roads you take to get there, and the mountain, they have a great presentation of all information given. One thing that really drives NEOC is their focus on safety. A few friends and I went to go there for white water rafting, and even though the explanations and the safety took a bit of time, it was all presented in a great manner and by a great group of staff. Everyone I encountered at NEOC really seemed to love their job and took great pleasure in their job. These people really wanted you to enjoy your experience! And they make sure that you do! It was such a phenomenal trip! We plan on going again next year!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank SamanthaMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

The white water rafting team at NEOC knew their stuff, were funny, friendly, but always careful. Their gear was well maintained and when we saw other companies on the river, the NEOC raft were by far the best maintained.

We had a really fabulous time, our first time doing class 5 and I was really nervous. What an amazing experience. We have rafted in several other places, but these guys were awseome.

Scenery spectacular, lunch delicious, great company all round. Highly recommend doing the full day trip if you can

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Kate_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Bad trip. We were hoping to be able to go on the boat ride, but it was too windy so we rode on the van. We only saw on moose, which was better than nothing, but the tour was pretty lousy. The guide/driver was not enthusiastic at all and did not do a very good job of explaining stuff. The ride was pretty boring. We found out that if you had a car, you can just drive around, because they don't actually bring you to any special spots, and they charge you so much, so expensive, so it's not worth it.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank 973camc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews