We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millinocket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground
Ranked #3 of 4 Millinocket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great accommodations with a wonderful staff. The food on site was fresh and delicious. Prices were a bit higher, but it was expected considering everything else is low end and/or camping. This was worth every penny after an all day battle with Mt. Katahdin! The location is perfect. Everything was clean and fresh. I would bring my own soap & shampoo....the complementary ones were way below par. Great hotel and I would highly recommend staying here if you were going to Millinocket, ME, and did not like camping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
47
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed there for two nights at one of the cabins right on the lake. The lake cabins do not have showers or bathrooms in the cabin BUT each cabin has their own key to a private bathroom and shower that is maybe 20 yards from the cabin. The cabins are rustic but for me is was very comfortable especially after a long day of hiking.

We ate at the bar and the food, drinks and company were all great. All in all a nice place and everyone who worked there that I spoke with were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Inn while on a New England Road Trip and loved it! The entire Inn was beautifully decorated with period antiques and prints, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious. There is also a pub and restaurant on the premises and their food was delicious! All in all, a great value for the money. I highly recommend it if you're going to Baxter State Park and/or Mt. Katahdin. Fishing up there is great too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoochtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed a stay at the Big Moose Inn this past weekend while meeting our son at the end of his Appalachian Trail thru-hike. It was the perfect home-away-from home place for us with comfortable rooms, wonderful staff, a fun bar, a comfy living room, a big porch with rocking chairs and a delicious restaurant. We loved it and hope to get back again soon!

Room Tip: Room #4 is large with two double/queen beds with lots of light from windows on two sides of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

In a brief moment of possession by outside forces I suggested that climbing Mt. Katahdin would be a wonderful way to celebrate my 50th birthday- that idea came forth in January when such an enterprise was comfortably remote in time. August crept in and we found ourselves- three offspring ages 11, 17 and 19 and my husband and I- planning this trip. This is not an easy climb and definitely not for the faint of heart. I insisted that we stay in a decent location with hot water and good food to support the beginning and end of our mission. We hit the jackpot! This inn is firmly behind the crazy souls who choose to climb the mountain- both comfort wise with large rocking chairs, screened in verandas and large comfortable leather couches in the main entrance area as well as sustenance wise. There are two excellent restaurants- the pub has casual but delicious fare that is just what you need the night before your climb. We celebrated the end of our climbing day with a dinner at Frederickas where more upscale but still warm service and good food is served without pretension. Both food spots are recommended. There is ample hot water service, plenty of nooks to relax in...and the fact that the food is just steps downstairs is so wonderful after a long day- there is no need to get in a car. The people who work here are dedicated and very friendly- if not for the upbeat nature of the receptionist Katie (my namesake!) about the details of climbing the mountain, we likely would not have come....it is a very hard climb but this was just the ticket as a reward and home base.

Room Tip: We stayed right in the inn- loved that, but some might prefer the privacy of a cabin. I loved being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinookTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Big Moose Inn was a fun place to stay for a couple of nights while visiting Baxter State Park in Maine. It is tucked into a grove of trees next to the Millinocket Lake Road (Baxter Park Road) at one end of Lake Millinocket. The lake is absolutely gorgeous and has great views of Mt. Katahdin in Baxter. This Inn is a full service Inn closest to the Park - about an 8 mile drive that takes about 12-15 min. On site are a restaurant that was a little more formal than we were looking for but also had the Loose Moose Bar and Grill that served not only alcoholic beverages but some nice casual food like sandwiches and burgers. The food was good and the price was relatively low. There was also a small breakfast room and a continental breakfast was available to all lodge guests. There was a small electric griddle to cook eggs and the proprietor prepared an egg/ham/biscuit for us to take on our hike. My wife and I stayed in one of the Lodge Suites (suite 3), furnished with the bare essentials. We had a bed, nightstands and a small bathroom. No TV or phone and internet service only in the Lobby but then this isn't why you come to the wilderness of Maine. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and all business was very informal. One minor complaint was that the walls are thin and you can hear EVERYTHING that your neighbors are doing so best to be quiet in all that you do. Try to avoid neighbors who snore all night! We also could hear logging trucks going up the highway early in the morning but that wasn't too disturbing. If we were to visit the area again we would definitely choose to stay at the Big Moose Quite an experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay in the cabins or campground. We were visiting family in the area and went to the restaurant for a special dinner. It was fabulous!! The waitress was exceptional. She didn't rush us, as we asked, the food was phenomenal - a treat when so far from any kind of city. Wish I could have tried everything. The menu was not extravagant, a few selections that were very well prepared!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelabby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Millinocket hotels
9.0 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
8.6 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#5 of 11 in Millinocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
8.7 mi away
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Katahdin Inn and Suites
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
9.0 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ice Fish Inn
Ice Fish Inn
#4 of 4 in Millinocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground

Property: Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground
Address: 102 Baxter Park Rd, Millinocket, ME 04462
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millinocket
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Moose in, with its rustic elegance, rare blend of friendly service and lovely surroundings offers several lodging styles to accommodate the needs of all of our guests. We offer Inn Rooms and Suites, as well as private cabins and 2 campgrounds. We also have a bar and grille, restaurant, two rafting companies, and a small convenience store on site. We are located in the perfect spot: 8 miles from Baxter State park, in between lake Ambajejus and Millinocket lake. We are within walking distance from a beach with a beautiful sunset. We also have canoes and kayaks for rental. We look forward to hearing from you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Moose Inn, Cabins And Campground
Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground Hotel Millinocket
Big Moose Inn, Cabins & Campground Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing