We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Katahdin

Mount Katahdin
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Millinocket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the northern end of the Appalachian Trail, the tallest peak in Maine stands at 5,267 feet.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

rained out from summiting, but wildly beautiful from Chimney Pond. and other viewpoints. Be ready for a rough trail!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take this seriously”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is my second trip up, but 25yrs has passed since my last trip. This time my wife and 12 yr old daughter joined me. Abol was tough but views were spectacular. Unfortinatly my wife had a fall on tablelands and was injured. Still determined made it to Baxter peak. Came down Hunt thinking it might be easier but not at all and we arrived at Katahdin Springs camp at 11:00 pm, 16 hrs of hiking. Good thing we had first aid kit and good flashlights. It is an adventure worth challenge but make sure you are prepared because you don't know what could happen. We are average hikers not amatures. I recomend any one to do this if you have a love for the outdoors. Baxter State Park is so well reserved thats it's fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trail to Turner Mt. was particularly bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mt. Katahdin has something for every level of hiker, but mainly for the experienced and fit. No sunday strolls here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 432Rocksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near the Adirondacks in NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hike and outstanding views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We started our hike at the Roaring Brook parking lot at about 6:40am. Make sure you are on time because they give away your prepaid parking spot right after 7:15 or so. It was a great hike to Chimney Pond and after discussing the trails with the ranger, we decided to go up and back via the Saddle trail. We were also doing Hamlin that day. There were boulders to climb up, but it made the adventure a little more challenging and fun. Sunblock is a must because you are above treeline for so long. There were 2 people over 50 (56 and 54) and the third person was 48. It took us 9 hours and 10 minutes, which also included Hamlin. We are from the Adirondacks and frequently hike there, so I would consider ourselves experienced hikers.

We rarely saw people in the morning on our trail, but the summit was crowded. The views were outstanding from both summits. The next day we hiked North Brother, which was a much shorter hike (4 hrs and 45 mins.), but the views were also spectacular.
We loved Baxter State Park!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A unique mountain for the NE - scale, views, nature...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The climb was fantastic – completely different from most mountains in New England or the Adirondacks. We traversed Mt. Katahdin, but excluded Knife Edge – the winds were much too high. In general, I am not sure that I agree with most hikers, who do Knife Edge with no belay. It is frequently windy, and a fall would not be fun…

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloobok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Katahdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing