We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
South Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed here after being disgusted with another hotel in town. We were very satisfied. The owners were very friendly, the room was nice, and the amenities were nice. For a small rural town this place was great. Will most assuredly be back. Bravo!

Room Tip: We had room away from pool. Suspect this is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soport717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    52
    33
    17
    22
See reviews for
52
57
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel is far too pricey for what it is. The biggest pro would be the swimming pool (but keep in mind that if you have a room near the pool, you will have no privacy since the curtains do not close completely and it will be loud until 10 PM when the pool closes). The WiFi quality was terrible, the service was poor (anytime we needed help from the front desk, we had to call for someone and they did not find our reservation at first), and the breakfast is bare minimum (stale cereal, frozen muffins, and old fruit). The WORST, however, was the queen-sized bed in our room. It was clearly an old mattress and had a major dip in the center, making it horribly uncomfortable and difficult to sleep. We ended up trying to flip it and sleep on the other side, but that wasn't much better. This was not what should be expected. The room was decently clean which was a plus. Millinocket is an extremely small town with limited resources, so be prepared for that and search other options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PieCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Millinocket hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel better then pictures great fun very clean very nice owners and spacious rooms ours was really big and clean great if you have kids also so much for them to do all inside for the price this is well worth the money

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our stay was comfortable, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. When you walk in you see the pool right away and that is where the desk is as well...didn't get to use the pool, too tired. Needs a good upgrade, but like everything else in a small town, money is not always available to do so and we all know times are tough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The bathroom was not clean, stuff on the tub and toilet that easily came off. Hairs on the floor. Cherry pit on the floor. Tv was poor quality. Price was ok, allowed my dog, that was a plus. No bad smells. Fridge and microwave was nice. Really wish the bathroom was cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieME1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pool was nice...but there were bugs floating in it. Hot tub was good. Kids enjoyed the pool table, at a dollar per game. The room had a musty smell but seemed clean. No bed bugs ( I always check!). This did not seem to be a secure building. Doors propped open, no staff in sight, no front desk person, had to call for someone every time. If I had been alone I would not have stayed. Generally in disrepair. Not the worst place I've stayed, but close. Was about $80 for a room, should be closer to $60 for this place. In desperate need of renovations. Breakfast...Didnt offer much, toast, cereal, waffles, and there was one orange, and we were there early. The coffee was good. There is a McDonalds nearby if you want eggs. Was very difficult to find, is tucked behind the RiteAid, not really a road to get to it, more of a parking lot behind the neighbouring strip mall. Free wifi. Prob not stay here again. Camping looked good...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritimegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Made reservations prior to leaving home and when I got to the desk they charged more. Unable to understand the front desk worker as to why we were being charged more. Rooms need to be updated and cleaned. We were unable to have the A/C on due to being extremely loud. To top off our stay, we went to have breakfast and decided to go out. The waffle maker needed a good cleaning and the refrigerated items were warm. Do yourself a favor and find another place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
0.4 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
264 reviews
22.1 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katahdin Cabins
Katahdin Cabins
#3 of 11 in Millinocket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Millinocket
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
10.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Medway
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katahdin Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katahdin Inn and Suites

Property: Katahdin Inn and Suites
Address: 740 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-1800
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Katahdin Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KATAHDIN INN & SUITES IS UNDER NEW MANAGMENT FROM MARCH 2015 The Katahdin Inn and Suites hotel is nestled in the town of Millinocket, just minutes from Appalachian Trail, Mount Katahdin and Baxter State Park. Centrally located, we are the ultimate launching point for a wide variety of activities including: hiking the Appalachian Trail, white water rafting the mighty Penobscot River, some of the county's best snowmobiling & fishing, camping, hunting, moose tours, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, mountain climbing and much more. We are within walking distance to many local retail stores, restaurants and pubs. Millinocket Regional Hospital and Millinocket Municipal Airport are just few miles away. From I-95 take Exit 244 for Medway, Millinocket and follow Route 157 west for 11 miles, we are on your left 1/4 mile past McDonald's behind the Right aid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Katahdin Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katahdin Hotel Millinocket
Econo Lodge Millinocket
Econolodge Hotel Millinocket
Millinocket Econo Lodge
Katahdin Inn And Suites Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing