We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katahdin Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Close to Baxter State Park, reasonably priced, clean room and bath, continental breakfast including make-your-own waffles, fridge, micro, internet service, large parking lot.
The manager, Sally, was very helpful and friendly - went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. Best fall color we've seen in New England - don't miss the Golden Road (Visitor Information nearby, Chamber of Commerce has info also). Centrally located for day trips whether hiking or driving. At breakfast we met some hikers that had just finished hiking the AT -very interesting to hear their experiences. Can end your day relaxing in pool or hot tub. We stayed 4 nights and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildaboutmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September for a cost of $74 including tax, we booked a double room.

The accommodation is located just off the Central Road next to a Rite Aid and Dollar store. There is a petrol station across the road and a McDonald's just around the corner.

As other reviews have said, it's not an attractive building from the outside and the reception area does host a swimming pool, pool tables, gaming machines and the reception desk. The receptionist was helpful enough and check in was very efficient, the welcome was not the friendliest we have had. Everything in reception is clean and tidy however, I wish I could say the same about the rooms.

Our first room was on the ground floor, based on the reviews I have read about this accommodation I was really expecting something better. The room had an unpleasant smell, similar to stale smoke. I would assume that it used to be a smoking room but now has a label saying 'no smoking'. The general appearance of the room was really quite poor, the wallpaper was tired and grubby, the furniture old and chipped, the double bed is small for beds in USA, an old TV and the ceiling had been very badly patched in following a leak or something. There was a small fridge and microwave in this room. On the positive side, the bathroom was clean and tidy.

To be honest we have stayed in some budget accommodation during our tour across America but this room was by far the worst we have seen and it was more expensive than better rooms we have had. The wifi connection was also non-existent in this room, so after going back to reception to sort out the wifi we moved rooms to the 2nd floor.

Upon entering this second room it did smell a bit better than the first room but had the same grubby and tired wallpaper, old furniture, old TV with a poor picture, and small double bed. This had a fridge but no microwave. As for wifi it was a stronger signal but would still not connect. After speaking to the receptionist again, they reset the internet and that did seem to do the trick as finally we got connected. It's not the fastest internet but once connected it was reliable enough. The bathroom in this room was also clean.

Breakfast was ok, nothing too special. Orange juice, cereal, pre-packed muffins and pastries, english muffins, jam and waffles.

In my opinion Katahdin Inn & Suites is in need of a refurbishment. It doesn't appear to be well maintained and I don't think it was good value for the money, it's below the standard of other basic rooms we have had (worse than a couple we paid $49 for). I would not stay here again and am disappointed that they offer a customer their poorest rooms (our first room) when they obviously have others available (our second room).

I have added some photos of the room but the flash does flatter the decor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

if your are in to hiking and mountain climbing (Mt. Katahdin) at Baxter State Park in Maine and do not want to camp out... The place to stay is the Katahdin Inn & Suites in Millinocket Maine.
After a long day of hiking there is nothing is better than the heated indoor pool and jacuzzi. The accomedations are average, but they are a very reasonably priced at $79.00 per night (plus tax) for a room with two beds, cable TV, and refrigerator. There is also a free breakfest room that provides coffee, OJ, cereal, hot cakes, etc. I would recommend it to anyone who plans to stay in the area after hiking in the park. There are also suites available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeG_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was an exellant place for us. When we arrived we noticed they had rooms pool side and they upgraded us at no extra charge. This hotel had what I look for, Clean, Quiet, Comfortable and staff was ever so friendly. We were climbing Mt Katahdin and were leaving before 6 am so would miss breakfast so the night prior they gave us some danish and muffins to take with us. This hotel is a definate deal for the price and I am returning next year to do some rafting and I,m not even going to search for another place I am just reserving here. Don't let the outside fool you, It's a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The only noteworthy element of its exterior is the lack of anything noteworthy in its exterior. Rectangle and very, very plain.

Upon entry into the facility, you are greeted by perhaps the oddest hotel lobby you will find. Two billard tables, pool, sporadic furniture, hot tub, electronic games, a cabana, some open areas and the front desk tucked away in the far corner. The staff was very friendly and efficient in checking us in.

The room was clean and basic accomodation. Washer/dryer facilities are available.

Breakfast was basic and the seating a bit small and cramped.

All in all, this location was adequate for a hiker and a couple family members.

If looking for luxury accomodation, this is not the place and from my view there is no such location in Millinocket but this site will do the trick for a hiker and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conchobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A few friends and I went to climb Mt. Katahdin. After an 11 hour trip it was nice to rest our heads at such a nice place. The people were friendly, the pool was beautiful, and the hot tub was awesome after a long climb.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed here more than once and things are improving. It is a stopover for a lot of people going to hike. The time breakfast is served has been moved up to accommodate these folks. Thank you to Sally and staff for a nice clean place to stay in Millinocket

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millinocket
0.4 mi away
Baxter Park Inn
Baxter Park Inn
#1 of 5 in Millinocket
304 reviews
22.1 mi away
Whitetail Inn
Whitetail Inn
#1 of 3 in Lincoln
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Millinocket
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pamola Motor Lodge
Pamola Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Millinocket
45 reviews
10.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Inn
#1 of 1 in Medway
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Young House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katahdin Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katahdin Inn and Suites

Address: 740 Central St, Millinocket, ME 04462-1800
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Millinocket
Price Range: $97 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Katahdin Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KATAHDIN INN & SUITES IS UNDER NEW MANAGMENT FROM MARCH 2015 The Katahdin Inn and Suites hotel is nestled in the town of Millinocket, just minutes from Appalachian Trail, Mount Katahdin, Baxter State Park, and Katahdin Woods & Water National Monument. Centrally located, we are the ultimate launching point for a wide variety of activities including: hiking the Appalachian Trail, white water rafting the mighty Penobscot River, some of the county's best snowmobiling & fishing, camping, hunting, moose tours, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, mountain climbing and much more. We are within walking distance to many local retail stores, restaurants and pubs. Millinocket Regional Hospital and Millinocket Municipal Airport are just few miles away. From I-95 take Exit 244 for Medway, Millinocket and follow Route 157 west for 11 miles, we are on your left 1/4 mile past McDonald's behind the Right aid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Katahdin Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katahdin Hotel Millinocket
Econo Lodge Millinocket
Econolodge Hotel Millinocket
Millinocket Econo Lodge
Katahdin Inn And Suites Millinocket, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing