We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!”
Review of Fisherman's Wife Cafe - CLOSED

Fisherman's Wife Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fantastic lobster roll,fries, slaw, &sweet tea!! great food! Good service & a terrific cook/owner. A must stop. I'm stopping' for breakfast after seeing the moose!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KUElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Downeast cooking”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was my first time to Maine, ever. We ended up in Milbridge, which didn't have a lot going on. So we went to the Fisherman's Wife Cafe based on online recommendation. It didn't let us down. The fried food here was A-MAZING. The french fries were to die for... hand-cut but so perfectly fried.

THEN. We were looking to find some good Maine blueberry pie. We asked if there was a bakery nearby (there is one not to far from there but they have crazy hours). The cook/baker at the cafe offered, that if were were staying nearby, SHE would make us homemade pies. We ordered a blueberry pie and a strawberry rhubarb pie and had it the next day. WOW. Within a week, we went back there again. I highly recommend this place for the nights you're not boiling lobsters at your own place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Maine Dining Jewel”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The cafe doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's a gem inside, and the food is outstanding. Lots of locals came in and out while we were there, always a good sign in my opinion. We had marvelous veggie omelets, homemade raisin bread and orange juice. The portions were generous and the prices more than reasonable. We had two 16-oz glasses of orange juice each, the omelets and thick-slices raisin bread, and coffee for $16.25.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure..”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Love this little cafe'. We have eaten here several times and it just keeps getting better! My daughter is a fan of their old fashioned root beer floats! A great addition to the Milbridge area. The atmosphere is incredible..love, love, love the originality!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Downeastmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great fish and wonderful desserts! The place is full of character. If you like local treasurers, you will love this place!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wife Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing