We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Machiasport
Post
Inbox
Search
“The Essence of Maine”
other travelers have booked this property
Serene and secluded, the Prowhouse overlooks Howard Cove and is surrounded by 40+ acres of forest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serene and secluded, the Prowhouse overlooks Howard Cove and is surrounded by 40+ acres of forest.
Hike our private trails, relax or dine on the deck, bath in the sun and cool ocean breeze. Guest photo from a kayak (left); lounge chairs on the deck (right).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Serene and secluded, the Prowhouse overlooks Howard Cove and is surrounded by 40+ acres of forest.
Hike our private trails, relax or dine on the deck, bath in the sun and cool ocean breeze.
Guest photo from a kayak (left); lounge chairs on the deck (right).
On a clear night, you can see the awe inspiring arc of the Milky Way.
Maine magazine's editor enjoyed her stay so much she wrote a cover story about about the house.
Welcome inside: the mid-century modern livingroom has panoramic views of the Atlantic ocean.
The Prowhouse's living room looks out over Howard Cove.
Upstairs: Maple steps and old metal type lead to two bedrooms.
The master bedroom (queen bed) has a cathedral ceiling and breathtaking water views.
Guest photos taken from  the master bedroom windows — and the outdoor decks.
The guest room (full-sized bed) is decorated with vintage nautical maps.
For a Downeast dinner, buy fresh lobster from the dock just minutes down the road.
2 miles away is Bucks Harbor, a working waterfront; buy fresh lobster or just wander the docks.
View of the Prowhouse and  the home's private hiking trails from a local lobsterman's boat.
On our hiking trails you'll discover gorges, caves, verdant mosses and striking views.
Our property abuts Jasper Beach, one of Maine's most geologically unique beaches.
In August, pick blueberries on our ledge and make a healthy breakfast.
In October, photograph foliage, carve pumpkins, pick apples, tour blueberry barrens.
In November, roast a turkey, light a (faux) wood fire, curl up with a good book.
Most of these beautiful beach photos were taken on — or near — our property.
More guest photos of area beaches.
Julie stands amidst the dramatic rock formations found around Howard Cove.
The Prowhouse is the ideal romantic retreat for a honeymoon or anniversary.
Easily drive to Acadia, Eastport, Campobello Canada, or Great Wass Island.
Dine at renowned Helens  - or at Bayview take-out, 'best lobster roll' USA Today
Pair seafood with fresh produce purchased at the Machias Farmer's Market.
Visit West Quoddy Light and Lubec: the easternmost town in the U.S.
Lonely Planet calls the coastal towns north of Acadia 'the real Downeast'
Visit historic homes, lighthouses, and trapped-in-time country stores.
Just 1.5 miles away: a beautiful, easy hike to a secluded coastal yurt colony. A guest favorite.
If you can score a tour, Machias Seal Island is one of the best places in the U.S. to see Puffins.
Guest photos of animals scene on our property.
Wildlife you mights see: deer, fox, bald eagles, porcupine, porpoise, seals, rabbits, and moose.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machiasport, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Linda T
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Essence of Maine”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The previous reviews tell all. There is not a moment of disappointment while staying at The Prowhouse. Even the enveloping fogs mesmerize and add to the constant serenity. The sea and sky are in continuous motion and states of change. For the patient, bald eagles, seals, moose and deer will be seen. The contemporary design and decor are a wonderful juxtaposition to the pine forest. Sitting in the quiet on the outside deck was an afteroon favorite. Our drive into Eastport was lovely. The history of the old fishing town is palpable.
It is enjoying a renaissance as a low-key artists' community. Nothing falls short of Machiasport. The French Cellar, a local wine and cheese shop offers flavorsome selections for your evening indulgence; yet nothing surpasses the sweet taste of lobster purchased directly from the boat after an early morning catch. Our hosts Julie and Rich are second to none. Their attentiveness to detail and needs excel all expectations.
No ifs, ands, or buts.....The Prowhouse is a labor of love, and a dream realized.
Linda and Jim
Providence, Rhode Island

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjhusker
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's so quiet...”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect for a couple who want peace and quiet. My husband and I enjoyed every day of our visit.

Our trip consisted of hiking Cutler reserve, Roque Bluff, the Yurts and a day trip to Campobello, but we found ourselves wanting to get back to the Prowhouse to enjoy the peace. A beautiful house set on a cliff that doesn't disappoint. Sitting on the deck just enjoying the view was our best part of the trip. We were blessed to see several Eagles soar over our head. We were here for the Supermoon/eclipse and had a front row seat! Awesome.

Rich is a great host and is wanting to make sure our time at the Prowhouse is all we want it to be. He has done a great job making trails on the property and we so enjoyed eating lunch on the trail. He is also available with suggestions for day trips, hiking and restaurants.

The pics do not do this house justice. It is comfortable, relaxing, fully furnished, and perfect for doing nothing! Exceeded all our expectations.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Stay wasn't long enough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipm14...
Ottawa, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“With apologies to the movie "Field of Dreams", "is this heaven ?" "No, it's Prowhouse"”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Every time you enter the house, you come face to face with the iconic coast of Maine (dramatically framed by 6 floor to ceiling windows). Prowhouse is built on a ledge, over Howard's Cove, where lobstermen tend their traps and birds are in constant motion. At night the lighthouses and foghorn make their presence known, and you sit amidst it all with whatever beverage you may favor. Serenity dominates, while recreational hiking is available on the property's 50 acres. The choice to relax and restore or be active and explore is yours.
After a day out and about experiencing Down East Maine, we looked forward to our late afternoons on the couch, with a tray of cheese and crackers and a glass of wine, while the turn table spun a classic Dave Brubeck album. Ahhhh, the good life.
In town, we were delighted by the meals and service at Helen's. Be sure to save room for any of their pies. Truly exceptional, especially the fresh blueberry with whipped cream. BBS Lobster Trap and Superior Shellfish have retail counters; don't miss the opportunity to enjoy fresh off the boat seafood.
Rich, who not only owns Prowhouse, but has put his heart into it (with the time, talent and design expertise of his wife, Julie). He was a joy to work with, and communication was timely and responsive.
Bottom line, this is a unique property in an unspoiled coastal region, managed by people who care that your experience is one that you will treasure. To say that we loved our time there would be a gross understatement. It was heavenly
Phil and Betty, 2 recent retirees from Illinois.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the couch
Liked least: the 15 minute ride to get groceries
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4z8a
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If your looking for the greatest vacation rental on earth the search is over. It's quiet and peaceful and completely amazing. The pictures while beautiful don't do it justice to be honest. It is one of the most spectacular places a person could ever stay. I can't say enough good things about my experience. It was like staying at my best friends house. Richard was so easy to deal with and responded immediately to any and all questions. He exceeded all and every expectation I had. He was welcoming and informative and genuine. I can't wait until he refers to me as a regular. I can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Prowhouse has it all”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from spending five nights at the Prowhouse. What an amazing property! The views from the house were spectacular. It was so enjoyable to just sit and take in the view, watch the boats and at night there was a beautiful full moon lighting up the sea with Machias Seal Island lighthouse blinking far out on the horizon.....absolutely breathtaking! The Prowhouse is a great place to get away from it all. High up on a cliff surrounded by forest and not another house in sight, it is the ultimate in private. The smell of the forest mixed with the salt sea air wakes up the senses.
Rich and Julie were amazing hosts, emailing us with lots of information about the local area, things to do and where to eat. They even phoned us on arrival day to make sure we had everything we needed.
The house is stunning! The decor was like something out of a magazine. Most importantly it was immaculate and clean, the kitchen had all the tools for preparing a great meal. On our last night there we followed Rich's recommendation of a meal at the Riverside Inn in East Machias....thanks for that...the food was great. We hope to stay at the Prowhouse again. Thanks Rich and Julie for sharing your beautiful property.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrboy
Providence, RI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“vintage design + idyllic setting = the quintessential Maine escape!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, daughters (age 8 and 10), and I spent 5 days at "the Prowhouse" in August 2013. It's an amazing spot for a family vacation (and probably an even more amazing spot for a romantic getaway). The view from the living room and deck is to die for - photos cannot do justice to the feeling of being out there among the trees with the moon reflecting off the ocean below. When not just relaxing in the gorgeously and uniquely designed and appointed home, we hiked around the multi-acre property, picked blueberries from the surrounding hills (best pies ever), swam in the ocean at nearby beaches (note: even with wetsuits this was seriously cold), and steamed lobsters that we picked up from the nearby working dock. We had great day trips out to Campobello Island (Canada - bring passports) and Cutler's Bold Coast. This is a jewel of a spot that, through its design and setting, transports you back to a simpler time and place.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gorgeous setting, the design of the home, the tranquility
Liked least: leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean R
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Repeat Visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us stayed at the Prowhouse for a week in 2013 for a multi-generational family vacation -- mother, boyfriend, daughter, son-in-law, five-year-old, infant. It was close quarters but everyone had a memorable time in an absolutely idyllic setting. We saw eagles soaring by, deer while out running, even a moose in the driveway.

We (mother and boyfriend) weren't out of the dirt road leading back to our city lives before deciding that we absolutely HAD to come back next year for a romantic getaway. So, this is a review of our June 2014 stay at the Prowhouse as a couple.

Although it didn't seem like anything in the house or environs could have been improved upon, the owners have been busy adding enhancements to a property they clearly cherish. In 2013 we did some exploring on the cliff’s edge and on the beaches in Howard cove but this time around the hiking experience was much better as we had Rich’s marked trails and map to go by. A lot of work clearly went into clearing and marking trails and lookouts. There’s even a couple of chairs at the Phil’s Rest lookout to relax in and enjoy the view. The trails are well marked and the hikes are not terribly strenuous but you are walking on the edge of a cliff (so exciting!) but you do need to exercise caution while enjoying the views.

The house itself is beautifully designed and furnished but completely cozy and comfortable. Waking up in the master bedroom to the intense, layered colors of the sunrise and the play of light on the water is just breathtaking. The starry sky at night is a revelation to a city dweller. Even cloudy and foggy days are beautiful in their own right; we did puzzles and played cards and other simple activities since, blessedly, there’s no TV. The combination of elegant but simple design and unspoiled nature is a powerful experience and made this vacation both restful and invigorating.

It’s tempting to spend all your time at the Prowhouse but there are lots of things to see and do and we’ve done some but not nearly all in the two weeks we’ve spent here. Just about everywhere we went in Machias we were in the midst of locals; tourists are way outnumbered.

I’m a runner and have loved running this territory. There’s lots of opportunity for great hill workouts and your exertions are rewarded by beautiful views.

We’ll definitely be back next year!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, elegant and comfortable home and furnishings, privacy
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing