We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay in Machias”
Review of Machias River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Machias River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Machias”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here a year ago in a room on the second floor; this time we asked for a first floor room (there is no elevator) with 2 queens. It was a nice room, clean, good size, nice bathroom. This hotel is within feet of the Machias River and all rooms have sliders on that side. There is a nicely kept lawn area on the river with a few Adirondacks to lounge in with coffee in the AM or a glass of wine in the PM. Very nice. Very serene. The office staff is very friendly and accommodating. Although they encourage you to eat at Helen's, which is owned by the same people and does have great food, the Blue Bird Ranch is right up the street and also has terrific food and wonderful wait staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a walk up, but you have a better view onto the river from above. So, 1st floor is easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debsmiley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    81
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
83
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
351 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

For the past several years we have stayed at Machias Motor Inn on our way home from Canada.
We like the comfortable bed, the good sized and well maintained room, the well-lit bathroom with the long counter to put our stuff on, the river view behind our room, and the convenience of parking our car right outside our room.

There is restaurant right next door and another one about a three minute walk away.
There is a bike path to walk on, waterfalls to walk to and neighborhoods to walk around.

We always enjoy our yearly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Picked this motel sight unseen from a very short list. We were driving between Acadia Park in Bar Harbor, ME and New Brunswick, Canada. Very small towns all along the way. This motel is just that a motel to stay at for a night. Good size room, comfortable bed, helpful staff. Room is clean and towels are better than average. The back side of the room has a patio door and a great view of the river. Definitely a bonus. We were also next door to what I think was the only dinner restaurant in town. Helen's was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Personnel are very nice and helpful. Rooms had been refurbished, but not in a way you would do at home. It's not a four star hotel, the bathroom remodel under the sink was a painted piece of plywood, but that said this is a small town with a beautiful river. Don't miss the falls. Comfortable bed, clean bathrooms. What more do you need? We had the "suite" and it has full size kitchen. We didn't need it, but it was that or a smoking room. Total cost was $117.70

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We came to Machias for business on very short notice with two large dogs and a need to check in at noon. I was very pleasantly surprised to be in a waterfront room which was very clean, had fridge and microwave, flat screen TV and really nice maroon colored towels. We thought the place was very well maintained and had gorgeous views. When our business was done for the day, we walked along the sunrise trail and watched a magnificent sunset then rise of the biggest full moon I have ever seen!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great experience at this modest motor inn. Great value, and great service. spring for the extra bucks for the rooms facing the river. They allow dogs, and we met many nice people travelling with their pets. They were also very accomodating when I had to make a change to my reservation.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
348 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was a little disappointed after reading the reviews. The front desk staff was very nice and kind. My room was somewhat run down. Yes it was clean but as soon as I entered the room I was met by a strange smell that said "old" place. The clothing in my bags adopted this smell as well. My eyes were itchy and my nose was runny. The bed was not comfortable. Maybe it was just my room, I don't know. The place was full to capacity so I could not change rooms. A little upgrading would go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machias
1.5 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
72 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
24.8 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Red Barn Motel
Red Barn Motel
#1 of 1 in Milbridge
35 reviews
15.7 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machias River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machias River Inn

Property: Machias River Inn
Address: 103 Main St, Machias, ME 04654-1149 (Formerly Machias Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Machias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Machias River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Machias River Inn is conveniently located on Route 1 in the center of Machias. There are several restaurants, bars and stores within easy walking distance. We share the parking lot with famed Helen's Restaurant. We are directly across the street from the Sunrise Trail, a multi-use recreational trail. Our rooms are just feet away from the beautiful Machias River where you can view the sunrise from your patio door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Machias River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machias Motor Hotel Machias
Machias River Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing