We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A filling meal!”

The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Machias
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A filling meal!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got the last table when we arrived on a Wednesday evening. The restaurant was packed. There are a wide variety of items on the menu, and not surprisingly, lots of seafood. This is family dining not fine dining, so as long as you accept that you will get a good meal, not a gourmet meal, you will leave satisfied. The service was good, especially given the crowd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    106
    41
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
308 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Food and Value”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were staying in Machias for five nights on our trip through Maine, one of those days being our wedding anniversary. We chose The Blue Bird Ranch for that evening, having already been to the only other real restaurant in town a few times. Both the menu and style of service were the same as Helen's, along with closing by 8 p.m.

There was a discussion with our server when we tried to order a bottle of wine. She said they were out of most wine due to weddings and other events recently held there. She only had a large bottle of wine. It turned out to be a 1.5 liter and we asked how much that would cost. It took a while and probably a few other people she consulted with to decide on a price. We were shocked when it cost only $22 !

Our lobster dinners were delicious and so was the blueberry cheesecake. They're quite big on blueberries in Maine, we've noticed, not to mention lobster. It worked out well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great service, great lunch!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I randomly chose this restaurant for lunch as we were driving through Machias towards the Canadian border. We were not disappointed. The crab cakes were delicious and the servings were quite ample. Our friendly waitress, Melissa, made our day as she answered our questions about the blueberry industry in the area. We had never seen so many blueberry plants before! We ended our meal with some of their amazing blueberry pie topped with ice cream. In looking back on our trip from Georgia to PEI and Nova Scotia, we have commented several times to each other that our meal that day at the Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant ranked as one of our favorites!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We know how great the fried clams (and the onion rings) are at the Bluebird Ranch; but we knew that we our appetites were not big enough on this particular day to manage a full meal each. We talked about ordering an appetizer of clams and one of onion rings. The waitress suggested that we just order one clam plate with onion rings and split it. Not only did she make a great suggestion; but she also split the order and served it to us on separate plates. For great food and great service, you will want to make the Bluebird Ranch a downeast destination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it was our lucky day”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a late lunch after hiking the trails at Quoddy Head State Park. We chose a daily special, meatloaf. The tasty servings were very generous. Unpretentious surroundings. Desserts, visible in a glass case, looked scrumptious and well worth a try, but we ran out of steam after the meatloaf. All in all, lunch was a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant also viewed

Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing