We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fried Clams”

The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Machias
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kennett Square
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Fried Clams”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

had a wonderful meal with my family, great fried clams, good selection of other fare, and beer to boot

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank questcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    110
    49
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blech”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

On the good side, the waitress was a sweetheart -- very kind and accommodating. On the bad side, they ran out of the specials -- not terrible, but bad planning. The service was also terribly slow. I had the crab stew, which was more like a dishwater with bits of crab; I added a ton of salt and pepper and it still tasted bland. As an experiment, I ordered the mustard and salmon dish; I never had the two mixed together, now I know why. It was just about inedible. The mustard stomped all over the flavor of the salmon. It was like eating mustard from a jar while sniffing an open can of tuna fish. A month later, I still vividly remember that terrible taste.

I've heard the place has been better from veteran Blue Bird patrons... so maybe they changed cooks recently. I don't know, but I'm not risking it again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaplessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesport, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have been going here for years, love the food, atmosphere, and the people! Definitely recommend everything, especially the seafood!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service Doesn't Get Better Than This”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My mom and I felt so welcome when we had dinner here. Service just doesn't get better than this.
The restaurant is much like a diner. There are three dining rooms. One room has a big TV so we chose the another. It was quiet. The food was definitely what I call comfort food. To my mother, this meant it was excellent (she had the pot roast). I'm used to lighter eating, however. I had the salmon, which was undercooked and overpowered by the mustard it was made with. The portions are huge. A family of four could have shared my dinner (really, only a slight exaggeration). We even had dessert. It was big and rich.
I did not leave hungry, but my stomach wasn't happy about the rich food. My mother felt great and raved about her dinner.
The restaurant closes at 8:00 p.m. They open for breakfast early.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMountainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Food was mostly good. Had an item that I didn't like so the waitress asked why I hadn't eaten it & if everything was ok. She became very snotty when I said I didn't like it. Then went over to discuss it with another waitress while they both stared and snickered! When I paid my bill, the owner checked me out (she had apparently made the chop suey I didn't like) She took my money and slammed it into the register and didn't even give me my change!!! Have NOT gone back since.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank DS672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant also viewed

Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Blue Bird Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing