We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food”
Review of Helen's

Helen's
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the service is excellent , the food is excellent,very reasonably priced.
the atmosphere is relaxing. plenty of parking. handicapped accesable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    129
    48
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great pies!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stopped here for an afternoon dessert and breakfast the next day. The food was very good, but the fish/lobster smell was enough to make me gag. It wasn't as bad in the morning as it was in the afternoon. I would recommend this restaurant, but for me to go back for anything other than breakfast it would have to be takeout only. I was staying at the motel across from the restaurant so this was not an inconvenience for me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniela3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prime Rib!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have a general tendency to dislike Prime Rib, but the owners David and Julie Baker sent me a "sample" from the kitchen and I was convinced--this place is unlike any others. Don't dare leave without a slice of their blueberry pie. SINFUL!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ok dinner”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The fried seafood was very good,but my brother's pot pie was less so.
Overall a good spot.............................................

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank goaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby Line, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Solid Eatery on the Maine Coast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did not know about Helen's and would not have stopped unless we were advised to do so by a fellow guest at our B&B in Deere Isle. We were heading north to St. Andrews, NB and kept our eyes peeled. We would have missed it unless we were on the lookout. It lived up to the advance billing for solid Down East fare, reasonable prices, and terrific pies. Quite large in size and segmented into different dining areas, service was prompt and friendly. The lobster roll was delicious, the menu varied, and we were in and out in about 45 minutes - perfect for travelers en route to a destination, north or south. A good selection of regional delicacies available for purchase at the checkout counter. Recommended. We will return when next in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wpdame3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing