We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful, quiet, and beautiful!”
Review of The Bold Coast

Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Machias
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coast comprised of high cliffs.
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“peaceful, quiet, and beautiful!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

While much of the coast of Maine can be very rocky, the beach at Roque Bluffs (just about five miles from Machias) is beautiful. It's not a crowded place, but it's beautiful and peaceful...also sandy, and the view is absolutely fantastic. Can walk from one end of the beach to the other and get a good workout. There always seems to be such a refreshing breeze there on an otherwise sweltering day. Not to be forgotten are the local restaurants (in Machias) that know how to cook and prepare fresh seafood and fish, as well as serve homemade pies! Even the local hotel is situated right on the Machias River, which flows into the Atlantic. Many a bald eagle has been seen there! Machias is one of those rare places that still has its simplicity and beauty without all the hooplah. A must-visit to enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EMB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

we went to see the puffins and although i thought it was a little pricey i would recommend it to anyone that could make a trip - the puffins are super cute & the staff of bold coast are very friendly & informative - a totally enjoyable trip

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heaven in Maine”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful and fun filled hike on a beautiful clear day. Hike
1.4 miles on a well marked trail out to a magnificent view of the ocean meeting the cliffs. Saw eagles and seals and beautiful wildflowers.
Hiking the 5.5 miles took about 3.5 hrs with time to explore and eat lunch. Lots of ups and downs and uneven ground- walking sticks and hiking boots were helpful. Can be wet in many spots

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“an amazing hike, even with the mud! Worth the twenty five mile drive from Machias!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Bold Coast Trail is tough but worth every minute of climbing over tree roots, slogging through mud, and pushing through over growth -- the views from the coastal trail are spectacular!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Hike Boot Cove Trail”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak for the larger part of the trail system but for a couple of hours give Boot Cove Trail a try. There is a bog with seating on the boardwalk, a clearly defined trail and even a geocache for those seeking adventure. At one point along the trail you can access the beach.

My treat of the day was startling a Spruce Grouse pair. The female instead of fleeing flew to a low branch and the male, much to my suprise walked toward me stopping about three feet away. The male then moved about four feet to my right and stood on a stump. Yes, they were protecting young chicks we could barely see in the brush.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bold Coast also viewed

Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Machias, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Bold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing