We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victorian by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Inn at Ocean's Edge(Lincolnville)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenmoor by the Sea(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Battie Motel(Lincolnville)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Lookout(Northport)(Great Value!)
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Camden Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
$239
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Harbor Inn(Camden)
$499
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducktrap Motel(Lincolnville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
204
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roommy husband and ibeautiful houseaway from the roadbreakfast was deliciousview of penobscot bayan upgradegas fireplacebreakfast roomwedding anniversarymodern amenitiesblueberry pancakescamden areafresh fruitspent two nightsfirst floorcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 214 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Our stay at The Victorian was one of our most enjoyable experiences as we worked our way up the Maine Coast . Greg & Ginny are very warm and congenial hosts and they have made the Inn such a beautiful and enjoyable place to stay. Our hearty recommendation.....

Glyndon, MD

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank mdRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

When you want to rest in a place of beauty; be fed the finest upon arising; sleep in confort and peace, enjoy clean, fresh air. and discover history, unique shopping and wonderful restaurants, book a stay with Greg and Ginny at the Victorian by the Sea in Camden, Maine.
Their attention to detail, their caring about their guests, and their kindness as they serve their guests is unsurpassed. The view from their veranda is breathtaking and the veranda is a lovely spot for a cup of tea and good book
Ginny's creativity in the kitchen makes you want to get up and be ready to enjoy the day. Their location is central to anything you desire to do on the Maine coast from a lovely schooner trip to a historic fort, museums, classic boutiques, and inumerable other things to do and see.
Don't pass up an opportunity to enjoy the hospitality of The Victorian by the Sea.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Loves_Maine_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We have just returned from Camden and a three day stay at the Victorian...We really could not be more pleased. The inn itself is an authentic and charming Victorian "summer home" that Ginny and Greg have managed to update with modern conveniences without diminishing its period beauty. In fact, Ginny"s attention to detail almost became a game as I found one little gem after another through out the house... The early Home Journal magazines on top of the treadle sewing machine, the hats on the antique coat rack...etc. etc.

Do not, however, think of this house as a museum... it is very, very comfortable... Greg and Ginny are an amiable couple who provide a warm comfortable setting where you feel immediately at home.... quiet ambiance surrounds you...

Also, Ginny is one very capable breakfast chef... We read about her blueberry pancakes in a review and yes they were terrific...but you should try the French toast croissants with apples or the Belgium waffles with bananas and cream... Oh, and I can't forget the pineapple and coconut muffins... For those a little more concerned with diet - there is also the usual fresh fruit, cold cereals and yogurt.

Ginny told me that they have just put up their own website ... yesterday, in fact. It is suppose to have pictures of the rooms and the grounds on it so take a moment to go to their site and check them out... We stayed in the Victorian Suite...

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank annemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We found a positive writeup in Fodor's Maine Coast about Victorian-by-the-Sea, along with other impressive inns. Our dates of travel were the end of November, before Thanksgiving. Victorian-by-the-Sea was the only one that was open plus offered the features we were seeking: waterfront, historic building, wood fireplace, water views and clawfoot tub in room (Harbor Room). We were very pleased with whole experience. Ginny took the time to research and cook/bake from scratch delicious hot breakfasts which addressed my husband's gluten-free diet needs. The inn is beautiful, in a great location and so reasonably priced. Perfect hosts - Greg and Ginny. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank traveltilyoudrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

a beautiful bed and breakfast close to the ocean in lincolnville.
book the victorian suite for a romantic stay. no tv . just a old style victorian room with every detail of that period. fireplace was cozy in the sitting room. breakfast in the enclosed veranda was delicious. full views of the ocean from our bedroom and veranda.
great inkeepers with tremendous knowledge of the area of many fun things to do. the property is fabulous.camden is beautiful. hiked in camden hills state park which is about 2 miles away. wonderful view of camden harbor from the top of the mountain.
great place to stay. very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dannymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews