We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here is where you find soul peace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Here is where you find soul peace!”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

When you want to rest in a place of beauty; be fed the finest upon arising; sleep in confort and peace, enjoy clean, fresh air. and discover history, unique shopping and wonderful restaurants, book a stay with Greg and Ginny at the Victorian by the Sea in Camden, Maine.
Their attention to detail, their caring about their guests, and their kindness as they serve their guests is unsurpassed. The view from their veranda is breathtaking and the veranda is a lovely spot for a cup of tea and good book
Ginny's creativity in the kitchen makes you want to get up and be ready to enjoy the day. Their location is central to anything you desire to do on the Maine coast from a lovely schooner trip to a historic fort, museums, classic boutiques, and inumerable other things to do and see.
Don't pass up an opportunity to enjoy the hospitality of The Victorian by the Sea.

  • Liked — The peace and beauty of the setting and the accommidations.
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was wonderful.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_Maine_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carver, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We have just returned from Camden and a three day stay at the Victorian...We really could not be more pleased. The inn itself is an authentic and charming Victorian "summer home" that Ginny and Greg have managed to update with modern conveniences without diminishing its period beauty. In fact, Ginny"s attention to detail almost became a game as I found one little gem after another through out the house... The early Home Journal magazines on top of the treadle sewing machine, the hats on the antique coat rack...etc. etc.

Do not, however, think of this house as a museum... it is very, very comfortable... Greg and Ginny are an amiable couple who provide a warm comfortable setting where you feel immediately at home.... quiet ambiance surrounds you...

Also, Ginny is one very capable breakfast chef... We read about her blueberry pancakes in a review and yes they were terrific...but you should try the French toast croissants with apples or the Belgium waffles with bananas and cream... Oh, and I can't forget the pineapple and coconut muffins... For those a little more concerned with diet - there is also the usual fresh fruit, cold cereals and yogurt.

Ginny told me that they have just put up their own website ... yesterday, in fact. It is suppose to have pictures of the rooms and the grounds on it so take a moment to go to their site and check them out... We stayed in the Victorian Suite...

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank annemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We found a positive writeup in Fodor's Maine Coast about Victorian-by-the-Sea, along with other impressive inns. Our dates of travel were the end of November, before Thanksgiving. Victorian-by-the-Sea was the only one that was open plus offered the features we were seeking: waterfront, historic building, wood fireplace, water views and clawfoot tub in room (Harbor Room). We were very pleased with whole experience. Ginny took the time to research and cook/bake from scratch delicious hot breakfasts which addressed my husband's gluten-free diet needs. The inn is beautiful, in a great location and so reasonably priced. Perfect hosts - Greg and Ginny. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltilyoudrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

a beautiful bed and breakfast close to the ocean in lincolnville.
book the victorian suite for a romantic stay. no tv . just a old style victorian room with every detail of that period. fireplace was cozy in the sitting room. breakfast in the enclosed veranda was delicious. full views of the ocean from our bedroom and veranda.
great inkeepers with tremendous knowledge of the area of many fun things to do. the property is fabulous.camden is beautiful. hiked in camden hills state park which is about 2 miles away. wonderful view of camden harbor from the top of the mountain.
great place to stay. very relaxing.

  • Liked — the location and the ambiance
  • Disliked — no tv.
  • Tips/Secrets — buy a calling card.spotty service in mid coastal maine for nextel users
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dannymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian by the Sea many times, and each has been a wonderful experience. Greg and Ginny are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are to die for. They have always been helpful with recommendations for sight-seeing in the area and resturants to try. We have been to many bed and breakfasts and the Victorian by the Sea rates as one of the best.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We found the Victorian by the Sea while planning a "daddy-daughter" trip to Camden several years ago. The Inn's large wood porch, white gazebo, and charming bedrooms (complete with lace curtains and floral wallpaper) are fantastic. Its a quirky old place with a quiet and peaceful charm we have grown to love. The innkeepers, Ginny and Greg, are friendly, knowledgable about the area, and accommodating. My daughter won't hear of staying anywhere else, so we have returned for the last 3 seasons, most recently with the whole family. As always, it was a delightful experience.


.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2006

When in the Camden area we always stay at The Victorian and have done so since Ginny & Greg became the proprietors. We must have stayed in all the rooms by now, all of which are very inviting and comfortable. Ginny's breakfast is the perfect beginning for the new day. Greg's suggestions for activities are always appreciated. If you are looking for a charming, comfortable, clean,quiet spot to stay then this is it.

  • Liked — charming rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sunrise Point
Inn at Sunrise Point
#3 of 9 in Lincolnville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Property: Victorian by the Sea
Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing