We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York State
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted...”
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We found a positive writeup in Fodor's Maine Coast about Victorian-by-the-Sea, along with other impressive inns. Our dates of travel were the end of November, before Thanksgiving. Victorian-by-the-Sea was the only one that was open plus offered the features we were seeking: waterfront, historic building, wood fireplace, water views and clawfoot tub in room (Harbor Room). We were very pleased with whole experience. Ginny took the time to research and cook/bake from scratch delicious hot breakfasts which addressed my husband's gluten-free diet needs. The inn is beautiful, in a great location and so reasonably priced. Perfect hosts - Greg and Ginny. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltilyoudrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
142
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami beach, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

a beautiful bed and breakfast close to the ocean in lincolnville.
book the victorian suite for a romantic stay. no tv . just a old style victorian room with every detail of that period. fireplace was cozy in the sitting room. breakfast in the enclosed veranda was delicious. full views of the ocean from our bedroom and veranda.
great inkeepers with tremendous knowledge of the area of many fun things to do. the property is fabulous.camden is beautiful. hiked in camden hills state park which is about 2 miles away. wonderful view of camden harbor from the top of the mountain.
great place to stay. very relaxing.

  • Liked — the location and the ambiance
  • Disliked — no tv.
  • Tips/Secrets — buy a calling card.spotty service in mid coastal maine for nextel users
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dannymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian by the Sea many times, and each has been a wonderful experience. Greg and Ginny are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are to die for. They have always been helpful with recommendations for sight-seeing in the area and resturants to try. We have been to many bed and breakfasts and the Victorian by the Sea rates as one of the best.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We found the Victorian by the Sea while planning a "daddy-daughter" trip to Camden several years ago. The Inn's large wood porch, white gazebo, and charming bedrooms (complete with lace curtains and floral wallpaper) are fantastic. Its a quirky old place with a quiet and peaceful charm we have grown to love. The innkeepers, Ginny and Greg, are friendly, knowledgable about the area, and accommodating. My daughter won't hear of staying anywhere else, so we have returned for the last 3 seasons, most recently with the whole family. As always, it was a delightful experience.


.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2006

When in the Camden area we always stay at The Victorian and have done so since Ginny & Greg became the proprietors. We must have stayed in all the rooms by now, all of which are very inviting and comfortable. Ginny's breakfast is the perfect beginning for the new day. Greg's suggestions for activities are always appreciated. If you are looking for a charming, comfortable, clean,quiet spot to stay then this is it.

  • Liked — charming rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We have stayed at the Victorian By the Sea several times. Each time has been a wonderful experience for us both. The rooms are furnished beautifully with their own style and warmth. Not to mention the wonderful friendliness shown us. The proprieters Ginny and Greg go out of their way to make you feel welcome with the wonderful food and ambience shown each guest. We are looking forward to another stay with them November.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apacheswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2006

It has been the second time that me and my wife stayed at the Victorian Inn by the Sea. We found it on the Inn-Website and after staying there for a long weekend last year, we decided that we have to come back. For a quiet getaway this is an ideal place - beeing not accessible by phone and beeper is a great plus and was the purpose of our private and enjoyable trips to the Inn. We see it as an advantage NOT to have television available. But then: We usually do not chose vacation places based on Internet access and TV availability. Most of us have enough work during the year and enjoy the difference and tranquility of a place like the Victorian Inn. Those of us who like to have more action might want to chose alternatives. However, Camden and environment has a lot to offer: Starting from climbing Mt. Battie to Kajaking and Windjammer tours...After a lot of outdoor activities we had a good night sleep not disturbed by the extremely silent fan/air condition.

In addition to the very charming house (we very much like the meticulous nice details that the Innkeepers Greg and Ginny put into the very elaborate reconstruction of the house), the Ocean is just in front of the property and easily accessible. The view over Penobscot bay is spectacular from the house.

Ginny and Greg are very pleasant - Ginny's home made breakfest is the best I ever had....

Needless to say that this was not our last stay at the Victorian Inn.

  • Liked — Website
  • Disliked — Website
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankAndMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
3.6 mi away
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Property: Victorian by the Sea
Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing