We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Relaxing & Restorative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband & I can't say enough good things about the Victorian By The Sea. For our 1st year annivesary, we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at a B&B. This was our first visit to one & we absolutely loved this inn. It sits back far from the road & its beautifully set amongst the trees. Jeanne & Robert were incredibly warm, gracious & accomodating. You can tell they take pride in their home & guests. We stayed in the 2nd floor "Season Room" & fell in love with the warm color schemes, antique soaking tub, bathrobes, gas fireplace & extremely comfortable bed. The breakfasts they made were by the far, the best breakfasts we ever had. You purposefully eat slow so can enjoy everything they place before you. It also didn't hurt that that dining room/sunroom overlooks the beautiful front lawn & picturesque bay. The huge wrap-a-round porch beckons you to come out with your coffee or tea and gaze at the water or get lost in a book. We were also very touched by the perfect lunch to go Jeanne packed for us for our days adventures. We enjoyed it on an island during kayaking - highly recommend Ducktrap Kayaking! Even if the weather was bad, my husband & I both agreed the Inn has plenty to keep you comfortable and occupied. We were sad to leave but very much look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzylee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2008

We recently stayed at the Victorian by the Sea for 3 nights. We stayed in the Sawyer Room on the 3rd floor and had a magnificent view of Penobscot Bay as well as a sitting room with a fireplace. It was beautifully decorated with five very comfortable chairs for sitting and relaxing/reading. Jeanne and Robert were the perfect hosts, making us feel welcome from the moment we got there. The wonderful breakfasts in the morning were served in a dining room surrounded by windows overlooking the bay. Jeanne & Robert personally cooked and served the breakfasts and gave us great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. One morning when we had to leave earlier than breakfast serving time, Jeanne packed us a wonderful breakfast of fresh cut-up fruit and delicious bread along with to-go coffee cups.

One additional "plus" for us was a lovely piano that my husband was given permission to play!

I can't say enough good things about the Victorian by the Sea. I highly recommend it if you're heading to Camden!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Just had a great stay at the Victorian by the Sea. The room was beautifully decorated. The hosts spent time to include many details in the room including robes, wine glasses, chocolates, and a gas fireplace. The bed was so comfy and the room so cozy. The breakfast was delicious with coffee, juice, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, and a delicious apple tart with ham. The hosts were gracious and welcoming. I would recommend this wonderful inn!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

What a delightful Inn! Fascinating history of the familiy who built it, cozy rooms, and wonderful breakfasts . New owners ,Jeanne and Rob, were great hosts and clearly love welcoming their guests. Really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend Victorian by the Sea. If I lived on the East coast instead of Wisconsin, this would be my ideal weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed here June 3rd through June 6th. This airy, remotely located and romantic inn was located at the end of a long drive on the waterfront. Our room was a suite on the third floor with a balcony with a direct view of Penobscot bay. We could open the windows and the sliding glass door and just let the sea breezes cool our room. We both slept here soundly each night. We enjoyed the view of the ocean from our balcony during the day and the spectacular view of the starlit sky during the evening.

Greg and Ginny were warm, friendly, comforting hosts. The breakfast was a combination of a continental buffet and sit-down service featuring fresh fruit cups, freshly baked, infectious muffins, yogurt, and cereals. We enjoyed Ginny’s pancakes one morning and her french toast the next.

The location allowed us to take the car to both Lincolnville Beach and Camden. It was also a good launching point for us to explore the Rockland Area, Deer Isle, and drive up the Penobscot Bay coast. Camden is a picturesque town with nice restaurants and shops. Lincolnville Beach had the Lobster Pound where we enjoyed lobsters for dinner. Lincolnville had the Cellar Door Winery, an interesting find in Maine, which had some good wines.

Although the weather was not ideal, chilly and damp these three days, we still got a lot of touring done.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCArchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Awesome place to stay. Very relaxing atmosphere and the breakfast was wonderful. Greg and Ginny were wonderful hosts. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great but when the flowers are in full bloom it must be a fabulous place to visit. Plan to visit again. Thanks for your hospitality. Judy and Doug, Tewksbury MA

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judydoug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Quiet, private and romantic. We had the entire Inn to ourselves, enjoying the gorgeous view of Penobscot Bay. Our room was quaint, with fireplace and bay window and nice deep tub - a perfect setting for our brief winter getaway.

Greg and Ginny are very pleasant keepers and were quietly attentive - they were very accommodating, given the off-season restaurant closings. Brekkie was fantastic! Be sure to ask about how they met!

While in town, guests should check out Prism Glass. Chef Lisa Sojka has herself excellent restaurant with a glass blowing gallery featuring the work of Patti Kissinger. They had us (again, the only guests) in to the bar to watch football and eat desert. Tell them the Giants fan from Boston sent you! Also visit the Whale's Tooth for beer, wine and BREAD PUDDING!

All in all, a wonderful stay at the Victorian by the Sea.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
4.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
468 reviews
3 mi away
Point Lookout
Point Lookout
#1 of 1 in Northport
341 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian by the Sea

Address: 33 Sea View Dr, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range: $215 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and peaceful seaside B&B located 1/4 mile off Route 1, just four miles north of the Camden, Maine harbor offering 7 guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Victorian by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian By The Sea Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing